• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Rugby on PS3

nope, but rugby 07 is out on PS2 and it's cracking :smashin:

Moogle

Distinguished Member

Moogle

Distinguished Member
would it work on 60gb version ?

UK 60GB models have around 80% backward compatibility success. I personally can't say whether it will work as I have no experience with it. You might want to do a search of the backward compatibility thread that is stickied as there may be information confirming it one way or the other in there.

waring192

Prominent Member
i would really love a rugby game for ther ps3. Was unimpressed with 08 on the ps2. Was just a patch and quade update on 06 really.

I dont think we will see one for a while though, as rugby games are a veyr niche market and EA want money. When the ps3 has more users then we might start to see them rolling out. But not untill the PS3 has sold at least anouther 10K more.

Moogle

Distinguished Member
That's pretty much it. Rugby is a verey niche sport comapred to something like football. With the PS2 having such a large market share it's still possible to make a decent amount of money from a rugby game. The PS3 does not have a big enough user base for it to be viable. I think developers are more likely to release a new rugby game on the PS2 then on the PS3. It's anyone's guess if and when that may change.

Fastolfe

Established Member
gutted that Jonah Lomu (Rage) was only a one off..that's gotta be one of the best sports video games I've ever played:thumbsup:....commentry was a crease up and it was great when the crowd started up with swing low sweet chariot....ahh..simple things

I think it was the same team that then followed with World Championship Rugby...but it just wasn't Lomu

Last edited:

Moogle

Distinguished Member

PlasmaVirgin