1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rubbish black on a pw7

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by philthyanimal, Mar 14, 2005.

  1. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well after hearing so much about the PW7 i decided to buy one.
    What can i say, the picture is terrible. Unless i crank up the brightness and contrast to well over 13, i get what can only be described as dancing green pixels on dark colours. This is on DVD and Sky. Its so bad i've not been able to watch any of my starwars movies. :thumbsdow
    feeling very disappointed, I know i should have demoed but no where near me had one.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Whoa some thing is very wrong there!!!!!!!!!!
     
  3. superpixel

    superpixel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Panasonic's may be a lot of things, but being rubbish at blacks and dark scenes isn't one of them...

    maybe there's a fix to be found here http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=149333

    you're in the right place to get it diagnosed/solved anyway - I'm sure someone can help...
     
  4. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    how are you connecting to the pw7?
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    what is ambient light level?
     
  6. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    right, i'm connecting sky+ with a js rgb to vga converter. the scart out of the sky to js box is a qed rgb only flat performance cable. The vga is a red van damme one. The DVD palyer is 757ai, and i'm using one of mark grants component cables to the dual slot board on the palsma. The room is very dark.

    I've read the link you posted, thanks for that :thumbsup: I have mine set on cinema, if i have the brightness and contrast on -3 then its awfull.
     
  7. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    you couldn't connect it much better!! (in fact it is exactly same cables as I use...only the dvd player is different) have the advanced settings been tweaked?
     
  8. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    no, i'm not 100% sure what the advanced settings change so i haven't put them on yet.
     
  9. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    no, i'm not 100% sure what the advanced settings change so i haven't put them on yet.
     
  10. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    there is a gamma setting, which i set to s-curve. S-curve handles mid range tones like shadows and stuff and makes a difference...certainly worth trying..there are other gamma settings too. Have you been into service menu and made sure it's a new screen?
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    try colour temp "warm" and Gamma 2.2 and 2.5
     
  12. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll try that

    How do i check the service menu? would i be looking for the hours?
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    also set to cinema (you need to turn advanced settings on to get into Gamma controls...also check for picture controls on DVD player picture see if it has birghtnees adjustment etc..
     
  14. phillfyspoon

    phillfyspoon
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    I have a pw6 and a denon 2900 and I find the pic is better going through the JS converter then using component.
     
  15. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    to check the service menu.....hold down volume - on the panel and press the status button on remote three times (button under the standby button)...go to SD options you will see two numbers labelled something like wt and pt...anyway left number is number of times turned on and the other is hours viewing.
     
  16. Peabo

    Peabo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How close are you to the plasma? You're always going to see 'dancing green pixels' if you're too close to a plasma, that's just the way they are. You should be at least 6 feet if not 9 feet way!
     
  17. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Sounds like a small chance it's actually faulty! Anything can and does happen. It's certainly true you see green pixels in panasonic blacks, but not loads of them unless maybe as Horny says, the source brightness is set too high, and it's not being sent real black at all, and is struggling to display 'not quite black'. Usually you'd have to be as Peabo says, less than 6ft away to see the green dots. They must be present in large swathes to notice from any further. I've seen this before, it was cured by turning the contrast down to something resembling the right level.
     
  18. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'm gonna wait for my new DVD player before i do the calibration. Should be here in a couple of weeks. Then i'll use the dve disk.
    Thanks for all your tips. Gonna try them all out with sky tonight.
     

Share This Page

Loading...