1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RPTV - Toshiba vs Sony ?

Discussion in 'TVs' started by NaimBoy, Dec 11, 2003.

1. NaimBoy

NaimBoy
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi folks,

I've finally decided to splash out on a new TV, primarily for watching DVDs, with a small amount of DTV thrown in.

I've narrowed it down two rear projection TVs - one from Sony and the other from Toshiba - the question is which one ?

The contenders (and relative merits) are :

Sony KP-44DX2
    -------------------
    Looks great (I know - it's subjective, but it's a big box that I've got to look at every day...), built in Freeview tuner, Virtual Dolby (!)

Toshiba 42WH36
    ---------------------
    Component input, Progressive Scan, Nicam

I haven't managed to see them side-by-side yet, but from memory the Sony appears to have the better picture.

I'm new to this RPTV game and having seen the various posts on setting them up (all seem to relate to Toshibas) I'm keen to find out as much as I can before parting with my dosh !

Any suggestions gratefully received.....

Cheers,
    Mark

2. Demon

Demon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +57
    well, both are excellent sets..

Of course we are all going to have our favourites...

For picture quality, I think the Toshiba is actually the better set, it has a non-reflective front screen, the best 100Hz available, and progressive PAL and NTSC..

Of course the Toshiba may be more a 'tweakers' set, as in you have the wealth of information available to 'tweak' all aspects of the set from mechanical focus to SVM disabling to service level convergence..

Other then that, they both look 'good', although I expect some personal opinions to differ as to which is best..