1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Routing video signals via amp, PS2/Xbox, cable questions and plenty of them

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by potfish, Jun 12, 2003.

  1. potfish

    potfish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks to the recent acquisition of a PS2 for free :) I decided it is a good time to reconsider how everything's wired up.

    Current system:

    Sony Wega widescreen, has 3 SCARTs of which 1 is RGB-capable and 1 is SVHS-capable
    DVD goes straight to TV's RGB-capable SCART connector, using RGB
    VCR goes to cable box with SCART cable, cable box goes to TV's SVHS-capable SCART connector (only using composite though)
    XBOX goes to TV's third SCART using crappy cable supplied (i.e. composite)

    To use the PS2 requires unplugging something.

    I have a Pioneer 2011 amp which currently has none of its video connections used (actually I have its output wired to the VCR now so via a long winded route at least I can use the setup menus when I have to).

    So what I think I want to do is the following:

    Leave DVD as is.

    Buy SVHS to SCART cable for amp to TV.
    Buy PS2 to SVHS cable for PS2 to amp.
    Buy XBox to SVHS cable for XBox to amp.

    Buy composite to SCART cable for amp to TV.
    Buy SCART to composite cable for cable box to amp.
    Leave VCR connection as is.

    Configure amp to switch the video sources (except DVD) to the TV as appropriate.

    Note: TV, XBox and PS2 will be close together but remote from the rest. Maybe 3m cables will do it but would prefer to use 5m ones to be sure.

    Questions:
    Does this sound sensible?
    Can I buy one cable to do both SVHS and composite from the amp to the TV?
    Is there any benefit to using digital audio connections from the consoles to the amp? (I don't use either for DVD and don't have too many games for either yet).
    Would there be a real benefit to using RGB from either of the consoles, considering I'd need to buy even more cables for rerouting the DVD via the amp? (the 2011 amp has 2 component inputs so it could only be DVD plus one console.) Would I see a degradation in DVD quality for routing it through the amp?

    Where can I buy all the above cables, especially the ones for the consoles? Seen plenty but not at 5m length.

    Thanks for your advice.
    potfish
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Very sensible mate
    Oh yes quite few games have DTS/DD 4.0 for cut scenes etc Why dont you use digital for DVD???
    I have only compared RGB and composite so can't really comment on S-vid compared to RGB
    Try the console forum but QED make games console cables so do monster etc also try game etc
     
  3. potfish

    potfish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5
    Blimey that was quick!

    Ah yeah, I do use digital for DVD, I meant I don't use the consoles for DVD.

    Can anyone tell me where I can buy a decent 5m SVHS+composite to SCART cable then?

    Thanks for the answers, I'll see if anyone can help me source the long console cables in the console forum.

    Thanks
    potfish
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Lektropacks
    They make custom cables so should not be a problem might cost a bit though.
     
  5. potfish

    potfish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5
    Will check them out, thanks
     
  6. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    www.intoav.com

    I use an evolution S-video lead and the quality is great.

    Note that if you route the consoles onto the amp and switch, you only need one cable out from the amp dont you.

    Cap:smashin:
     
  7. potfish

    potfish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks for the link.

    I need both composite and S-Video from the amp to the TV if I want to use S-Video for the consoles and composite for cable/VCR. The amp can't convert between the two.

    Cheers
     
  8. cbemoore

    cbemoore
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +16
    Unfortunately that won't work.

    Composite uses the same Scart pin as the SVid luminance signal. So you'll either be able to get a composite->scart, or a Svid->Scart, but not both at once!

    I suppose you could get a cable made up with a switch on it, so you could use it for either. But that would be a pain......

    Chris
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Pot fish does AV 3/4 side input on your sony have composite and S-vid iof use this for the 2 cable from amp
    PS S-VHS is not S-Video (S-VHS is a an anlongue recording fromat like VHS and betamax) S-Video is a video standard like RGB and composite (PAL).
     

Share This Page

Loading...