Router Worries

Kais1

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi newbie here.

just recently had a 1gb fttp connecttion installed with VOIP.

now i am thinking of upgrading my router from the basic one i was given by the provider..

i cant find any gaming routers that have a phone input...

after reading some past threads on this forum i think what i need to get is

Grandstream HandyTone HT801 ATA​

phone line wont be active till the new year as number is being ported...

can someone please confrm what i will need to do with the new router that i order...as in what i will have to get additionally to make use of the VOIP supplied by my provider.

tks guys in advance

Kais1

You don’t need a router with a phone socket to use voip. Well unless you want BT Digital Voice that is, in which case only their SH2 will work.

Yes you can use a Grandsteam HT801 ATA with your VOIP service……BUT…….it requires your ISP/VoIP provider to provide you with your SIP login details. Some ISPs won’t though, eg BT. Who is your ISP?

Yes you can use a Grandsteam HT801 ATA with your VOIP service……BUT…….it requires your ISP/VoIP provider to provide you with your SIP login details. Some ISPs won’t though, eg BT. Who is your ISP?
new service who is giving 6 mths free 1gbs net.

they are called BRSK

I read recently that OpenReach are planning to turn off the POTS (analogue) phone system in 2025. If spending money on a new router it may be worth contemplating one that can cope with your POTS/DECT handsets if you are planning to retain a "house" phone (as opposed to "just using my mobile") in future. However, I've not done much research on the subject at time of writing.

Personally, I would wait to take possession of your new ISP router and try it for a few months before deciding I needed "something better." If the one they provide for free/bundled works, why waste the money on something else.

i have emailed the isp asking for sip details...wait and see if they provide.