router & telephone on secondary socket is this the best way ?

gaynor

Standard Member
I have an old Master telephone socket  master socket.jpg I dont want to plug anything into this as its not near any electric sockets and hard to get to . Ive hard wired a telephone wire into this one end and the other -

I have hardwired a secondary wire to a secondary socket about 15 feet away
2secondarysocket .jpg

I ve plugged in the router and telephone into this new single socket as a test and they work with very little loss of signal ( 62 instead of 66 so thats ok )
3secondaryfront.jpg

But what a mess it looks - was thinking of getting something like this

MK Essentials Double RJ11 Telephone / Data Socket White (490HT ) skrewfix​

I should like to know - would this work without the filter thing on the front -
Is there a better way to do this configuration without losing internet speed -
I just want to be able to have the telephone answer machine and router together next to the electric sockets in an easy accessible place. Ive got one other secondary wire going from the master that just has one phone plugged into it with a run of 2 feet that was already installed through a wall. Any help much appreciated. master socket.jpg2secondarysocket .jpg3secondaryfront.jpg

Last edited:
D

Deleted member 24354

Technically, that Master Socket is the property of Openreach and you should not mess with it. If you want it moving then you should book an engineer visit for them to move it for you, which they will most likely charge for.

If it were me, I would purchase one of these for your extended socket, removing the existing faceplate

Amazon product
I would then remove the faceplate from the current Master Socket and connect (using grease filled crimps)

Amazon product