1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rotel RMB1075 - stack it or new rack?

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by Smurfin, Jul 27, 2003.

  1. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,737
    I'm in the position with the imminent arrival of an RMB1075 where my separates rack isn't going to be sufficient to hold this as well my yamaha A1 (on processor duties).

    The top of the Yamaha definately needs to be kept clear to allow ventilation, and it looks like the Rotel doesn't (all the pics I've seen are of a the 1066 sitting on top of the 1075).

    Long term I obviously need to get a new rack, but after shelling out over two grand on new kit :)suicide: what the fudge my budget was £800 3 days ago:eek: :eek: :eek: ) that ideas going on the backburner.

    So will I be ok using the top shelf of my rack for the rotel and the yammy, with the yammy sitting on top? (it weighs in around 21kg tho)

    Any views?

    cheers
    Matt
     
  2. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    althought the pictures may show the 1075 below a processor, i bet if you read the instructions that wouldnt be advised. Irrelevant of the heat sinks being on the side and whatever, the heat will go upwards and the yammaha could get very hot.

    I actually just stack my power amps on the ground on top of a paving slab...... keeping the heat well away from mroe sensitive devices.

    Ad
     
  3. Steve.EX

    Steve.EX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    3,096
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +69
    Matt.

    My experience of Rotel amps is that they will get quite warm under working conditions, not as hot as some but certainly warm.
    I would not place anything upon it.

    Steven.
     
  4. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,737
    uh-oh :(

    Gawd, not more expense!!!! :(
     
  5. Bapapapa

    Bapapapa
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Definately don't stack it - if you're strapped for £££ you can build a flexy for under £40 - mind you, my 1075 doesn't get anywhere near the frying pan temps of my 976 processor.. :eek:
     
  6. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,737
    *goes to look in classifieds*
     
  7. JimmytheSaint

    JimmytheSaint
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,703
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +92
    I would suggest avoiding stacking anything on top of your Rotel. I have the 1095 and it can get fairly warm after the duration of a film!
     

Share This Page

Loading...