Rotel RMB-1075

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by hifi-gary, Jun 22, 2004.

  1. hifi-gary

    hifi-gary
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Finally convinced 'she who must be obeyed' to purchase a
    1075. Anybody have any ideas the best price I can expect
    to pay for a nex/ex-dem siver version.

    Do Rotel have a shop only policy?

    Thanks

    Gary
     
  2. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,966
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +1,034
    I am sure you cannot get Rotel products over the net.
    The 1075 retail at £850 so an ex dem maybe about £700, if you can find one.
    You could always look for a second hand one especially on these forums as a couple have been for sale of late, was even tempted myself ;)
     
  3. Wannabe-THX

    Wannabe-THX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Audio-T in High Wycombe have a second hand unit. 450 GBP.

    Fish
     
  4. SSB

    SSB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,555
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    North Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +171
  5. hifi-gary

    hifi-gary
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Audio-T one has sold :mad:

    I have been offered a 3 month old ex-dem for £760 - but that
    seems quite high as some people have managed to get a new
    one for that price.

    Does anybody knowthe main difference between this and a RB-985 amp?
    Would it be worth looking for one of these instead?
     
  6. SSB

    SSB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,555
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    North Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +171
    Well, the 985 doesn't come in silver for starters ...

    Here's the main spec details for the 985 MK II (you can check this with the 1075)
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Wannabe-THX

    Wannabe-THX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just checked Unilet's site. They appear to have a factory second.

    Fish
     
  8. hifi-gary

    hifi-gary
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that - but unfortunately that one has gone as well.

    I will keep trying - about to put a wanted thread in the classifieds.
     
  9. hifi-gary

    hifi-gary
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just phoned Unilet - spoke to a different person for
    a quote on a new 1075. He mentioned that they have some
    Factory Stock ones and I have now managed to buy one :clap:

    Picking it up tomorrow...... Look out neighbours
     
  10. Wannabe-THX

    Wannabe-THX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Out of interest, what did it cost?

    Thanks
    Fish
     
  11. hifi-gary

    hifi-gary
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    £509, they are direct from Rotel, used by Rotel as demo equipment.

    2 years Rotel warranty - so cannot fault them. I am picking it up
    tomorrow morning so will let you know how I get on. They as far
    as I know have a black one still available at the same price.

    Now next problem is setting all the stuff up (never had to do it
    before). Denon 2800MKII, Rotel RSP-1066, Rotel RMB-1075 &
    Definitive Technology Cinema 80 Speakers.

    Anybody who lives in West Midlands/Warwickshire area that fancies a
    few beers and can help would be appreciated.
     
  12. meep

    meep
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +112
    Contact details? Website? Do they have these often?

    Peter
     
  13. Wannabe-THX

    Wannabe-THX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Peter the link is above in my post. I think they get them on a semi-regular basis.

    Fish
     
  14. meep

    meep
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +112
    Fish

    Sorry. Misread. Thought you were purchasing direct from Rotel, not a unit direct from Rotel via Unilet.

    Cheers

    Peter
     
  15. hifi-gary

    hifi-gary
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rotel will not sell direct - even factory refurbs. I emailed them and asked.
    They suggest going to an approved stockist and ask them to check with
    Rotel.

    Picked it up this morning - it's heavy, glad I drove and did not try to pick
    it up using the train.
     
  16. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,442
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +10,478
    thats a good price considering retailers get new ones for £600......and usually only get 1 year warranty.
     
  17. hifi-gary

    hifi-gary
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK,

    Now for my dumb question. How do I connect my sub? I have a Definitive
    Technology ProSub80.

    As it is a powered sub with built in amplifier, I presume you connect it
    to the RSP-1066, is this correct? :rtfm:
     
  18. Philly112

    Philly112
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,342
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Frodsham
    Ratings:
    +1,685
    Yes! I think the 1066 has two sub outlets - just plug it into one of those (marked sub 1 on the pre output connections) and Bob's yr uncle! I don't know if you need to tell the 1066 if you are using 1 or 2 subs - probably not, but the manual will tell you.
    Phil
     
  19. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,939
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    No, just plug into sub1 in the pre-out section and off you go.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice