1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rotel RA-03 or Musical Fidelity A3???HELP??

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Rich666, Sep 19, 2005.

1. Rich666

Rich666

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +21
    Hi all! I'm a bit new to this HIFI lark and am looking to upgrade my ageing old system! Basically I’m looking for a little advice. My budget is £500 MAX and I know I can get the Rotel RA-03 for that money new. However I could also buy a musical fidelity A3 second hand for possibly less. In people’s opinions which would be the better buy, Baring in mind the Musical Fidelity was £850 new? I listen to a lot of vinyl on a Pro-ject Debut III, mainly Led Zeppelin, The Doors, Rolling Stones and also some heavier stuff. Any help would be much appreciated?

Cheers!

2. akhc

akhc
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I haven't heard the Rotel though I am very familiar with the Rotel "house" sound having heard various amps and CD players through the years and in fact setting up a friend's system to use the RC 1070 and RB 1070 pre/power combination back in 2002. The same can be said of MF amps and my current setup includes the NuVista M3 Amplifier as well as a pair of A308s to triamp my speakers.

Anyway, I would describe Rotel amps as more in your face (and this isn't necessarily a bad thing). They have a slightly brighter and gutsier sound compared to the MF amps (more neutral and a warmer sound) which makes them I think more suited to home cinema systems where sound for films is a priority. Even with some music the Rotel would be better (mostly beat driven stuff where the Rotel has a more forward sound). IMO I'd only choose the MF if you listen to a lot of classical/instrumental music which you don't appear to list.