1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rotel Amp Problem

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by nik3k, Feb 28, 2005.

  1. nik3k

    nik3k
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, my Rotel RA-01 has a problem:

    No sound is being output to the left channel.
    Yes I checked the 'Balence' :) and that the cables were pluged in and screwed up tightly...
    If I plug the left speaker into the right output socket then I get sound out of the left speaker so it is not the speaker which has the prob.
    Tried my ipod/radio tuner/cd player so not problem with input device.
    If I switch over the red and black interconnects (between cd player and amp) so red is in the white socket and white is in the red socket, sound still only comes out of the right speaker.
    Tried pluging both speakers into 'Speaker Set B', still only got sound from right speaker.

    I havn't changed anything recently.

    any ideas, I have no idea what is wrong!

    Thanks
    Nick
     
  2. WhyAyeMan

    WhyAyeMan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +276
    Amp sounds like it is broken

    Is it still under warranty?
     
  3. nik3k

    nik3k
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think so, just need to find the reciept now :(
     
  4. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,883
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +935
    I had the same problem with my RA01 recently but i wasnt getting sound from either channel. Fortunately it was still under warranty, the dealer did tell me that both fuses had gone, or something to that effect, so it may be the same problem.
     
  5. Beobloke

    Beobloke
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Out in the Sticks!
    Ratings:
    +65
    After about 8 months of gentle use for background music in the office, our RA-01 stopped working. A few measurements showed both output transistors on one channel had blown.

    We weren't too impressed...................... :thumbsdow

    Adam.
     
  6. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10,842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,215
    Any office with Dominic in doesn't neccessarily do "gentle" background music :rotfl:.
     
  7. Beobloke

    Beobloke
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Out in the Sticks!
    Ratings:
    +65
    The Rotel died before he joined us. However, the replacement Cambridge A5 we found in a cupboard seems to be coping with his "eclectic musical tastes" so far............................. :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...