1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Room Size OK for Projector?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by garliadr, Mar 3, 2003.

1. garliadr

garliadr

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +25
    Hey all, moving into a new house in a couple of weeks and had planned to get a plasma but am now looking at a projector. The room size that I am planning this for is about 15' x 11', the screen at one end with the projector at the other (11' away from each other) with the main viewing position probably 9' away from the screen. Does this sound Ok? I ask because I am a bit of a newbie at projectors. Also how far down does a screens casing hang as it is going to be mounted above a set of patio doors that give access to a conservatory (with blackout blinds over natch
    ).

2. JohnS

JohnS

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +33
    The screen casing is about 4*4 inches so probably no worries about getting in the way of the doors.

AS for sitting 9ft away and projecting 11 ft, its just about image size really, you wont be able to go too big and make sure you select a pj with a short throw.

3. garliadr

garliadr

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +25
    I am looking at either Panasonic AE100, Sony HS10 or Sanyo VPL10(?). Are most of these short-throw? I did demo a Sanyo at a local Sevenoaks and from 9ft away it looked pretty damm good!

4. Gary Lightfoot

Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,115
    If you go for LCD, you should sit approx 2 x screen width away, otherwise you'll see screen door which will probably spoil the image. (IE sit 10 feet away from a 5ft wide screen).

Gary.

5. JohnS

JohnS

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +33