1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Room size/lumens question.....newbie

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by BFC, Nov 14, 2004.

1. BFC

BFC

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I'm an absolute beginner here so please bear with me.

Trying to help my dad put together a decent home cinema system. He's willing to pay for good quality and is buying new, starting from scratch.

I need all sorts of advice on what's needed as far as hardware goes, plus cabling and set up.....

Initial question is about the set up. The room is big - 20 feet by 35 feet, plus right up to the roof...about 15 feet at its tallest. If the home cinema projector/speakers etc goes in one corner, will there be a problem keeping the sound there without it 'wafting' around the room??

Once I've got a grasp on this, I need to decide what kit to buy.......any advice much appreciated :thumbsup:

2. BFC

BFC

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh yeah - lumens......

How important is this, given the room size mentioned?? I have been looking at the Sanyo Z3 projector, but it seems a little low at 800 lumens. Is this a key factor???

Cheers
    Alex

3. Oakleyspatz

Oakleyspatz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +230
    the corner idea will affect the sound more than the picture although the best place to sit when watching the screen is directly in front of it. Brightness tends to reduce as you move off axis from the center line. If the room is rectangular without any protruding walls, I would suggest placing the screen on the long wall and the seating opposite, in other words , the width of the room and not the length.