Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Room EQ Wizard

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by JohnMulcahy, Apr 10, 2005.

  1. JohnMulcahy

    JohnMulcahy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aldershot
    Ratings:
    +20
    Hi All,

    The Room EQ Wizard is now available from my NTL webspace at http://homepage.ntlworld.com/john.mulcahy/roomeq. One of the world's plainer web pages :D

    The help files are available online at the site and within the program itself. Theo has been doing sterling work on providing Dutch translations, if anyone else fancies translating the help files to another language they can be downloaded separately as a zip file from the site.

    The resemblance to the old TMREQ Wizard is fairly scant - the new Wizard is a ground up rewrite that has been carried out over the last 6 months. The big additions are the signal generator and SPL measurement, but in the last week I have also added support for the Behringer Feedback Destroyer Pro, for those not lucky enough to have TMREQ :). There will be more to come on the BFD Pro front, I'll be looking at setting that up via its midi interface.

    The measurement is stepped sine, basic but reliable and accurate. More sophisticated measurement techniques to extract room impulse response are on the dev list.

    Hope you like the new wizard, let me know if you find bugs with it (most have been sorted thanks to the beta testers' work) and if you have suggestions for improving it. I have a 6 page list of things to add...

    Best regards,
     
  2. Parmenion

    Parmenion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Out there
    Ratings:
    +50
    As an interested party I have been following your efforts from afar.

    It's impossible to imagine all of the hard work that has gone into this and a simple thank you seems incredibly inadequate.

    I'm sure others will add their thoughts, but for now thank you for all the time and effort that you have spent working this out.

    regards

    Parmenion
     
  3. Neale

    Neale
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Gerrards cross
    Ratings:
    +0
    John
    Thanks again for all your hard work you have always been kind and very patient even when some of the questions are very basic and sometimes plain stupid
    Thanks again

    Neale
     
  4. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    13,265
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,031
    Superb work John :clap:

    An amazing amount of time and effort has gone into this project, you deserve every credit
     
  5. lenny

    lenny
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Paris
    Ratings:
    +6
    Outstanding John,

    I fully agree with Parmenion and UrbanT: everybody in this forum knows what I think about this subject.

    After I've played a little with the software and I quickly realized I'm missing the most important part of your development: the sound generation and the automatisation of the measuring process. I'm fed up of the two + hours needed to make manual measurements... I'll invest in the sound card and the bunch of cables in order to make the machines to work.

    Until now I did not found any bug: either the B tester have done an excellent job or I'm not digging deep enough ;) .

    Best regards,

    Lenny
     
  6. lovegroova

    lovegroova
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,729
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +387
    Just to add my thanks and appreciation for all the hard work that has gone into this. I used the software this weekend for the first time and found it a breeze to use. THere are 2 things that need fixing howecer, but I'm not sure you can help.

    1) A friend, who is into AV, called me sad.
    2) Every time I start to take measurements, a plane goes overhead!!!
     
  7. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    In my case it is always tramway or something else.

    Therefore TMREQ only after midnight!
     
  8. JohnMulcahy

    JohnMulcahy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aldershot
    Ratings:
    +20
    Re planes, trains (and automobiles? :)) the Wizard is fairly resistant to noise sources when generator tracking is turned on as it is doing a DFT on the input to isolate the measurement frequency. You can also easily repeat part of a measurement either by doing a new measurement for the section that may have been affected by noise and choosing to merge with the existing data (new measurements will replace old ones at the frequencies being measured) or if the measurement is still underway place the cursor where you want it to go back to and select the "Freq. tracks cursor" box, the measurement will then jump back to that point and carry on again from there.

    Best regards,
     
  9. adomingos

    adomingos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    John, having myself been a developer long ago, the minimum to say is thank you, cause I can imagine the hard work place behind it. :smashin:

    Watching the forum last night for news and saw your post and I couln't resist, cause I was so thick and tired of getting all those measures by hand :eek: . Nevertheless I got into some trouble. :rolleyes: So will this be the place to put the dumb questions or what? :)

    I manage to make the initial steps, like calibration and measurement level however the measurement itself was not succeeded... :suicide:
     
  10. JohnMulcahy

    JohnMulcahy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aldershot
    Ratings:
    +20
    adomingos,

    You can ask here, but probably better to place a question in the sticky TMREQ thread - that way it is easy for others to see the questions and answers if they have the same problems. To check that all is configured OK it is probably easiest to start by looping back both channels on your soundcard to make sure you get a flat measurement result at about 75dB.
     
  11. adomingos

    adomingos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, thanks, I'll give it another try later on and will post on the TMREQ sticky. :smashin:

    Cheers,
    Ant
     
  12. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    John, thanks for your work once again.
    I used the wizard last weekend for the first time and it all went as smooth as it can go.
    I actually got almost the same filters as with ETF in the end. That proves only how accurate TMREQ is.
    thanks once again. Kastrup
     
  13. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,957
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,671
    Outstanding work,John,and very much appreciated.

    I'd like to add my thanks to all those above.
     
  14. Bogi

    Bogi
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +27
    John!

    Really, really very nice. I must say this is some impressive piece of SW engineering. I've just downloaded it but haven't had time to really get into it, but it sure does look great!

    Cheers
    /Bogi
     
  15. simon40

    simon40
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks very much John.

    Simon
     
  16. PhilB1234

    PhilB1234
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's certainly made me want to start re-measuring..... I'm going to re-do the system this weekend. The wife ain't gonna be pleased!
    Thanks John!
     
  17. memmerson

    memmerson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +16
    Nice one John, I'll try to take a look this coming weekend!!

    On a sidenote, my AV32R DP has a license for TMREQ, but is there another license I need? I seem to remember a mention of a software license that is unique to a PC!? Or am I going mad???

    Cheers,

    Marc
    p.s. John, I'd like to show my appreciation for your effort and for making it available F.O.C., do you have a cd/dvd/booze etc. wish list?
     
  18. JohnMulcahy

    JohnMulcahy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aldershot
    Ratings:
    +20
    Marc, you don't need any licenses for Room EQ Wizard, just get stuck in. No reimbursement required :)
     
  19. Miron

    Miron
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +54
    John, there must be some CD or DVD that is not available anymore :) or anything like that. I am sure such a "reimbursement" would be fine. Just go on and put Marc into troubles :) :) :)

    I myself am pretty depressed tonight. Just came back from Mark Knopfler concert. That was SOUND. I am tempted to pack in my top loader, dual and single sharcs, mcintoshs and KEFs all together and throw them all into Danube to amplify and TMREQ stinky water. Whatever you do at home it can never have that touch of live music!

    I am goint to sleep over first ...
     
  20. blue-eyes

    blue-eyes
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Lelystad, the Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks very much John!

    p.s. Because I'm Dutch I'll also give a "dank je wel" to Theo :D
     
  21. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0

    What would you tell then if he translated all help files and not just a half :rotfl:

    Just kidding, great work everyone involved in the project, grandmaster John in the first place of course.
     
  22. Teejoo

    Teejoo
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    We are definetly speaking about a couple of beers when that happens :D

    (BTW, it's not that not all files are translated, you just learned to understand Dutch while reading the first half and imagine the rest is in English because you realize you understand :D :hiya: )
     
  23. ariecol

    ariecol
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks john, i need it, but just dont have the time to play with the dp, and setting it up.

    thanks a lottttttttttt! :clap: :clap: :clap:
     
  24. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Now try to fit all that kit in your place, plus the musicians (there goes privacy), not to mention what the police would do to you, the first time you would try to play it... :devil:

    Actually I have better sound than most live music I have attended, except for sheer volume and dynamics, so do you, probably... :cool:
     
  25. spiderv6

    spiderv6
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't get the link to work. Anybody else having issues? I can't seem to get any ntl site to work.

    Can any kind soul post the file elsewhere until the link is fixed? :lease:
     
  26. Teejoo

    Teejoo
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,

    The link works fine with me.
     
  27. spiderv6

    spiderv6
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Weird. I absolutely cannot access that page (or any other ntl page) from my main machine. I have no issues with any other sites......

    Anyway, used a different machine through a different ISP and now have the files.

    Let the fun begin................ :clap:
     
  28. RickS

    RickS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    AB,Canada
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    The link does notwork for me. Would like to try it out. :)

    Rick
     
  29. adomingos

    adomingos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't know what I did first time, but finally on the weekend I manage to take the measures. It was very easy. :boring:

    Thanks once again John. :thumbsup:

    Soon I'll post some thoughts on TMREQ sticky to exchange some ideas with the members...

    Cheers,
    Ant
     
  30. spiderv6

    spiderv6
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    :lease:

    I am struggling here a bit guys so I would really appreciate some help.

    I have a Creative Audigy 2 ZS sound card.

    I am trying to get the calibration done and having no luck.

    Where am I sending the output from the soundcard to on my AV32? The instructions are a bit vague. And what do I need to set (and where) on the TMREQ menu?

    My RMS settings are around around -90 and I cant seem to do anything to get them to change. :confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice