1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rookie Questions! - Pal Prog Scan etc.

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Prodigy, Mar 17, 2004.

1. Prodigy

Prodigy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys (and gals),

Short term lurker... etc etc.

Due to one of my mates at work buying a Panny PT-AE200 projector I am now considering joining the wonderful world of AV malarky by getting an PT-AE300 in a few months (well, when i've sorted out a mortgage and redecorated etc).

Anyway, back to all-in-ones.....

After talking to another clued up mate at work (I work in the computer games industry - so most people are clued up on this gear) he sang the praises of progressive scan, the only trouble that after a lot of searching the only all-in-one that seems to offer PAL prog scan is the Jamo DVR-50.... All of my DVDs etc are PAL region 2 - so I don't fancy replacing em all.

Are there any more all-in-ones on the horizon that will offer PAL prog scan? As I say I probably won't get around to buying it for a few months, but if anyone has heard of any then they could be added to my 'research'. The £500-600 tag on the Jamo is also a bit off-putting, but not too bad...... maybe someone knows whether more 'main-stream' (i.e. cheaper) manufacturers are about to release a PAL prog scan system soon? (Sony, Panasonic etc).

Also has anyone heard of any all-in-ones that offer DVI output? The PT-AE300 (apparently) has DVI-IN which is 'even better' than prog scan (again, apparently).

Sorry if all this is a bit simple, but any advice is better than nowt....

Cheers!

2. KraGorn

KraGorn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    'Fraid I can't help you with regards to all-in-ones as I use separates, however perhaps I can correct a slight misunderstanding with this comment.