1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Roku Ethernet-to-802.11g wireless bridge

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by tigermad, Jun 17, 2005.

  1. tigermad

    tigermad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,900
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +279
    Roku only seems to use 802.11b wireless and states on their website you cannot use a 802.11g wireless card but you can use a Ethernet-to-802.11g wireless bridge.

    What does it mean Ethernet-to-802.11g wireless bridge??? :rolleyes:
     
  2. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
  3. tigermad

    tigermad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,900
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +279
    I have a netgear wireless router dg834g, do i still need one with this?
     
  4. AgeOwns

    AgeOwns
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +0
    You don't need extra kit

    The forums on the rokulabs.com website are excellent for advice.
    http://www.rokulabs.com/forums/

    ...I did read something about it slowing the whole wifi network to 11mps if you use it though...
     
  5. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,608
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,962
    I'm sure that if you mix wireless-b and wireless-g stuff together then they will all slow down to the lowest speed, ie wireless-b speed.
     
  6. surfermc

    surfermc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    You can mix wireless -g and -b on the same network depending on the equipment. Each will still operate at the appropriate speed. It seems not to be possbile to mix the sercurity level it either none or WEP or WPA but not a mixture.

    Martin
     
  7. tigermad

    tigermad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,900
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +279
    I have been reading the roku forums and have made a post.

    The other posts seem to suggest I still need a wireless bridge.
    So I am still none the wiser.

    If I want 11g with my router, will I need a wireless bridge or not :rolleyes:

    I am just about to order an M2000 direct from Roku but I would like to know if I have to fork out another £50 for the bridge or not.

    :confused:

    I thought a bridge was for when you want to add wired ethernet devices to an existing wireless network.

    I am so dumb when it comes to things like this!
     
  8. hinesle

    hinesle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    correct

    Incorrect - the whole wireless network will run at the lowest common speed i.e the b standard

    correct - The wireless Access point determines the security level and this is global setting that affects all devices connecting to it


    You will not need a bridge. What will happen is that your wireless network will run at the lower speed of 11mb per second which is the wireless B speed. This only becomes an issue if you transfer a lot of large files between PC’s on your home network.

    If you don’t do this then don’t worry. If you are concerned about downloads becoming slower then again this will not happen unless you have a broadband connection greater than 11mb (most are between 750k to 3mb)


    Good luck with the ROKU they are great!!

    Hope this helps

    Lea
     
  9. Maff et1

    Maff et1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Best advice is to use the B wireless built into the Roku, and if it's too slow on its own then G won't help as it has lower range / less interferance tolerance. If B works but you have other things on your wireless network (like a laptop) then you might find G is worth having but you can just add the bridge later.

    Note these speeds ONLY affect the wireless portion of your network, anything plugged into the router (DG834) with a cable will still run at full speed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...