Rocksmith 2014 PC Question

Discussion in 'Xbox One Rocksmith' started by bilbosmeggins, Feb 10, 2014.

  1. bilbosmeggins

    bilbosmeggins
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,824
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,906
    ............... I'm quite tempted to try the PC version with all this great DLC kicking around. What spec do I need to run it realistically. My gaming PC was sold some time ago and all I have now is a Windows 8 :( i5 based laptop. Integrated gfx etc. Any chance? :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2014
  2. AndrewH13

    AndrewH13
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    17,040
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Southend, Essex
    Ratings:
    +7,560
    It wouldn't work on a Vista 2GB ram laptop I tried last week.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2014
  3. bilbosmeggins

    bilbosmeggins
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,824
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,906
    You mean 2gb? I think my old Amiga was 2mb, lol
     
  4. AndrewH13

    AndrewH13
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    17,040
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Southend, Essex
    Ratings:
    +7,560
    Yeah, I edited it soon as I saw it posted!
     
  5. bilbosmeggins

    bilbosmeggins
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,824
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,906
    Lol. Well done that man :). My laptop is 4gb, but it only has an integrated intel 4000HD gfx. I'm thinking that I'm probably pushing my luck. It only has a windows experience rating of 4.5. Save my money?
     
  6. hyperfish

    hyperfish
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    10,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +9,944
    I have RS 2014 running on a Dell i5 laptop with a 4.7 Windows score.
    While it has the horsepower, the its either the graphics or sound card that isn't up to the job, or maybe both.
    I had to set the game resolution at 800x600 otherwise lag and distorted sound made RS unusable. Even now the sound is a bit distorted in the tutorials. This is the case using RS standalone on the laptop or connected to the TV via HDMI.

    In reality the 800x600 4:3 ratio isn't much of a problem on the 42" TV.

    20140209_123117.jpg
     
  7. bilbosmeggins

    bilbosmeggins
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,824
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,906
    Thanks for that, hyperfish. To be honest I think I'll hold fire until I've got another decent PC. I don't really want to compromise the experience too much. With the new IL2 out soon a new PC is forcing it's way onto my shopping list anyhow.
     
  8. chewyx

    chewyx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Chatteris
    Ratings:
    +354
    I run mine on an I5 with 4GB ram and intergrated GFX seems to work fine. I only fire it up occasionally to play the customs mind. I dont have an issue with lag and i can connect it up to my TV. Was worth it for the £20 odd it cost me to play the customs
     
  9. bilbosmeggins

    bilbosmeggins
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,824
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,906
    Probably worth me giving it a knock then if it's only gonna cost me £20 or so. I'll have a hunt for a good price. Thanks chewyx
     
  10. AndrewH13

    AndrewH13
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    17,040
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Southend, Essex
    Ratings:
    +7,560
    It was £15 last week when a few of us got it. Post on here had a link. forget who now.
     
  11. Goooner

    Goooner
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    39,115
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +17,695
  12. chewyx

    chewyx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Chatteris
    Ratings:
    +354
    plus you have to buy 1 bit of DLC (recommend cherub rock) so another £2.40 but its still not a bad price
     
  13. bilbosmeggins

    bilbosmeggins
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,824
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,906
    Thanks all. Apologies as I forgot about this thread :blush:
     
  14. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,321
    Weighing up the cost of a decent spec PC it would be more economical to buy a used console. That's what I suggested to a mate who wanted to give RS a go so he bought a used PS3 12GB for £80. You'll probably pay a bit more for RS in console format but will still be quids in over a PC purchase.
     
  15. Goooner

    Goooner
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    39,115
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +17,695
    But then that negates the whole point of buying the PC version, Custom DLC :)
     
  16. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,321
    Fair enough, I didn't realise DLC was limited to PC.
     
  17. Goooner

    Goooner
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    39,115
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +17,695
    Official DLC is the same across all platforms, some enterprising souls have managed to make their own, stuff that's never likely to appear officially.

    It works on PC, or modified consoles, hence the advantage of the PC version.
     
  18. bilbosmeggins

    bilbosmeggins
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,824
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,906
    What Gooner said. I already have it on console but am constantly disappointed with both the stock song list and the official DLC. Need to get my hands on the good stuff (read: Jonny B. Goode etc) :)
     
  19. Goooner

    Goooner
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    39,115
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +17,695
    I wonder how hard (or expensive) it would be to get the rights to some of the older stuff like Jonny B Goode? Maybe they don't think it'd sell well?
     
  20. Christian 71

    Christian 71
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,181
    As if...:)
     
  21. bilbosmeggins

    bilbosmeggins
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,824
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,906
    Last time I checked, JBG had something like 23,000,000 hits on youtube. Oh, it's sell alright. And I can guarantee that the older stuff would come a hell of a lot cheaper than the contemporary sh!te that they are currently paying through the nose for. Here's hoping :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...