1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RME 9632 / Winamp

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Molly, Apr 2, 2004.

  1. Molly

    Molly
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    What is the best output plug-in for winamp using ape files and a RME 9632 in analog?

    Are there any settings I should be choosing to get the very best out of the soundcard and software?
     
  2. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Use WinAMP 3 and disable direct sound. This will give you bit perfect sound, you can prove this by playing DTS CD's.

    As for Ape, unless disk space is an issue, I would keep the files in wav format, that way you don't need to mess with plugins.
     
  3. Molly

    Molly
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm using Xlobby to build a multizone system so I can't use winamp 3. The software only allows for winamp 2.91 or 5.

    The system sounds good but I wanted to check I had it set for its maximum performance.
     
  4. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    The only way to be sure is to try a DTS CD, if it works, everything is fine, if it doesn't, something is altering the sound.
     
  5. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +49
    I always found Winamp 2.91 or 5 to be better/more user friendly than Winamp 3. Saying that, I use Foobar2000!! :)

    Cheers,

    Steve
     
  6. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    RME drivers have only one setting an are not really integrated with Windows. That is bad in some aspects but good fromSQ point as there is no mixer issue. Irrstective of what settings you choose DTS CD via SPDIF will play correctly.

    However, I think using the analogue out is the real gain with this card.
     
  7. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    This isn't my experience Branxx, I couldn't get DTS CD's to play at all with WinAMP 5. In Winamp 3 you have to disable direct sound.
     
  8. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +49
    Nice to see your still around Branxx, I hope all is well :)

    I haven't really had any experience playing DTS cd's so can only comment on the userfriendlyness of the Winamp software. I do agree that the analogue playback quality of the RME cards is superb!

    Steve
     
  9. cameronl

    cameronl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    hi there, I too have a 9632 and am in the process of making a multi-zone/multi-source sound server. If you do find out a software combination that gives you the best sound then please post :)

    thanks

    CaM
     
  10. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Jeff,

    I never tried WinAmp, but with JRiver Media Centre there is nothing I can do to preving it from playing DTC CD/files correctly. It just does it. I am encoding them as WMA lossless.

    There maybe some plug-ins in WinAmp that are altering the sound path.

    madders,

    I just was not very active in last couple of months as I was concetrating on the new job and a rather complex personal project that I will be wrtting about when all bit come into place. Otherwise all is well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...