1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ripping speed of Pioneer DVR 106D

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Steve Bate, Sep 29, 2003.

  1. Steve Bate

    Steve Bate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarporley
    Ratings:
    +11
    What speed should I be getting when I rip my DVD's with this drive, I've just ripped a couple of DVD's with DVDDecripter and am only getting 2.1X at best, is there a way to speed this up?

    Steve
     
  2. tjcronin

    tjcronin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I believe the RPC1 firmware (unofficial) developed by 'NIL' overides the artifial DVD ripping limit which manufactures are forced to implement. More details and download at the following web site .. http://forum.firmware-flash.com/portal.php
    I think the actual ripping speed is then 12 times. This firmware also makes the drives region free and allows high speed burning of single-speed blanks. I have installed this firmware on my drive succesfully but I haven't tested it properly yet. All firmware updates carry some risk of it going wrong.

    - laters
     
  3. Jackass

    Jackass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +561
    Go here , install and enjoy!

    :)

    Steve.
     
  4. Steve Bate

    Steve Bate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarporley
    Ratings:
    +11
    Done :clap: :D :clap:

    Thanks guys

    Steve
     
  5. nfordenfield

    nfordenfield
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine done too

    cheers guys
     
  6. Baggy69

    Baggy69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    mine done aswell, thanks for that link. :clap:
     
  7. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    Awesome! Been looking for this since I bought my drive...
    Thanks for the find.
    Ian Guinan
     
  8. Baggy69

    Baggy69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    just tested this firmware, the speed works but the region free does not for me.
     
  9. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,496
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,045
    Ran the program and I’m sure the number of region changes dropped. :(
    How do you know when you DVD is region free?
     
  10. Baggy69

    Baggy69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    I was trying region two disk then a region one and i noticed my region change had dropped. also making a few coasters now :(
     
  11. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,496
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,045
    I used Jackass’s link. tjcronin seems to go else where. What have other members used and did they have success or failure?
     
  12. Baggy69

    Baggy69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    I used Jackass’s link aswell.
     
  13. Steve Bate

    Steve Bate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarporley
    Ratings:
    +11
    Must be honest I've not checked the counter yet and I've not burnt anything yet either, my main concern at the time was upping the rip speed which it did nicely.

    I'll check the counter :(

    Steve
     
  14. Loafer316

    Loafer316
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    It might just be the windows region counter (software protection)...i'd suggest running something like dvd genie in combination and it should bypass any region countdown.
     
  15. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    I think the hardware region counter only resets when you reboot your pc?
     
  16. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,496
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,045
    Can you give me further advice on this program? Such as do you run it once? Or do you have to have it on the HD all the time? Etc.
     
  17. Loafer316

    Loafer316
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    here m8!:smashin:

    http://www.inmatrix.com/files/dvdgenie_download.shtml

    (same place you get zoomplayer)

    i use my older 104 dvd rom drive which for some reason doesn't need dvd genie..:rolleyes: ...but basically you install on the hard drive and when insert the dvd...it opens and closes automatically so you can play the dvd..in say powerdvd.
     
  18. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,496
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,045
    :smashin: Cheer mate I will have to give it a go.

    I hope it works I’m worried I may accidentally put a reg 1 disc in and it be locked on that, I have 2 goes to go and at present isn’t selected to any region.
     
  19. Baggy69

    Baggy69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    out of interest, what media are people useing on there 106's ???
     
  20. Loafer316

    Loafer316
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Currently use Memorex DVD-R X4 speed....you can get them in tubs of 25 and they work out at around 96p a disc. Although i burn at X2 speed anyway...just to be safe...my old pioneer doesn't like X4 speed burnt discs...although they play fine in all other players i've used them in.

    The consesus is that discs that are made by Ritek (G04 Dye) are one of the most compatible around....and ppl have trouble with Bulkpaq and datawrite discs....although i have never used them.

    For Rewritables i use Memorex and JVC DVD+RW that burn at X2.4 speed and i have never had a problem with them.

    Bought all of them from www.blankdiscshop.co.uk
     
  21. Baggy69

    Baggy69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    hmm, maybe its my disk's then, im useing bulkpaq orange.
     
  22. Jules

    Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,053
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +723
    I've burned loads of Bulpaq orange (x4) without any probs.
    I've also buned loads of datawrite yellows (x1) without probs.

    Infact, with the Pio 106, I've not had a single coaster, ever!
    I've used some of the more expensive Ritek discs too, but the bulpaq orange are only about 60p each! So, I'm going to get some of those.

    I'd guess that if your suddenly getting coasters with bulpaq orange discs after you've fiddled with the firmware, then the firmware is at fault. Just my thoughts but I'm no expert.
     
  23. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,496
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,045
    I got some Datasafe ONE DVD-RW and some Mirror (4X) DVD-R in packs of 25 for £15.74. The later one do not seem to be in stock. I have not used them yet I have been playing about with the Datasafe ONE DVD-RW.
    Used the same place as above and got good service.
     
  24. Baggy69

    Baggy69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    yes only having this prob after updateing to the new firmware, problem is you cant put old firmware back in so im stuck with it at the moment :( If i turn a doggy disk over you can see a differnent colour on part of the burnt area, but the disks look perfect before the burn.
     
  25. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,496
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,045
    You can see where disc are burn an all the recordable DVD’s and CD I have seen.
     
  26. Baggy69

    Baggy69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    its not that sort of disk burn, its like a shadow around the whole disk about 2mm wide and around the center of the disk.
     

Share This Page

Loading...