Question Ring Flash for Sony A6000

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by topgazza, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. topgazza

    topgazza
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +3,583
    Getting lots of conflicting websites on flash units for the Sony A6000. Looking for a ring flash that will fit on my Sigma 105mm Macro(Canon fit) that I use with an adaptor on my A6000. Not looking at wireless external flash but a dedicated ring flash.

    Happy to consider most price ranges but something around £0-£150 but not cheap rubbish. One of the issues is that a flash with a Sony/Minolta shoe wont work on the A6000. Cant seem to find out why.

    I have found a fix for non firing of flashes which involves sanding some clean metal in the camera hot shoe to create a ground so I'm happy with that aspect.

    Its just which ring flash will work on my A6000
     
  2. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,013
  3. topgazza

    topgazza
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +3,583
    I'll check those out thanks twist. I assume hotshoe should be OK.

    Its annoying that I can't find a simple statement about what type the A6000 hotshoe is and if its truly "Universal" as in any make flash will work....
     
  4. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    75,879
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +25,832
    any low voltage ISO shoe "should" fire the flash but only the sony specific MIS compatible ones will work in TTL mode I think
     
  5. topgazza

    topgazza
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +3,583
    There are a few of those I think. Meike and Yonguo do one, I think... its finding the right one of course
     
  6. topgazza

    topgazza
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +3,583
    From what I can see the Meike looks OK to try at only £22. I would leave it on constant light and just select correct exposure etc in the camera
     
  7. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    75,879
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +25,832
    Isn't that an LED light "that you can make flash" as opposed to a ring flash? - not normally anything like powerfull enough to use small apertures....
     
  8. topgazza

    topgazza
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +3,583
    It is... want to try a bright light on the subject... as in LED... rather than a specialised flash. If I like it and I can find a better quality one for the A6000 I would invest in a proper ring flash. But I like the idea of something that lights up the subject without a flash and see what I get
     
  9. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    75,879
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +25,832
    GLWT :devil:
     
  10. topgazza

    topgazza
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +3,583
    If there was a wider choice I'd go for it now. Just don't fancy spending £200-350 on a ring flash from Metz or Sigma..... not just yet anyway
     
  11. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    75,879
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +25,832
    I know the feeling :(
     
  12. topgazza

    topgazza
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +3,583
    I mean... I would as I'm sure having a quality ring flash would help with my macro pictures even though I haven't really needed one so far. But it would be nice to stop down as far as possible to get the detail without losing anything.....
     
  13. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    75,879
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +25,832
    as you so recently said @twist - I mean @topgazza ..... "it's only money...." :devil: :D
     
  14. topgazza

    topgazza
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +3,583
    This is true......
     

Share This Page

Loading...