1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Riddle of the sounds

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by silver surfer, Jul 6, 2004.

1. silver surfer

silver surfer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,
    I'm a newbie here so please be gentle with me....

I have a strange problem with my set-up and hope someone can throw some light on it.

I have a Toshiba SD-330 DVD player which is scarted (IXOS) into a Panasonic TX28PS5 TV (Dolby surround sound) and with the sound output to a Marantz PM4000 amp for CD playback. The DVD player and Tv are a month old, the amp about two years.

Now, I am perfectly happy with the TV and the DVD player. And the amp has always given sterling service in other circumstances.

The problem is this. When I play back CDs on the Toshiba through the amp (not the TV) the sound is distorted. But if I turn on the TV (or disconnect the scart cable) the sound immediately cleans up. Wierd or what?

The toshiba is connected to the amp through a directional gold-plated phono lead. The TV has build-in 5.1 sound.
    I am going to try connect the DVD via S-video or even straight phono to see if that solves the problem....

any help suggestions gratefully received...

2. silver surfer

silver surfer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, you lot are lot of bloody good....
    :laugh:

3. sticker

sticker
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    Have you checked to make certain that none of the SCART pins are bent or pushed back in (both ends)

Regards
    John

4. John Dawson

John Dawson

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +112