• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Rich's HTPC Build

Rich1981

Established Member
Morning all i am delving into the world of upgrading all my Av equipment and getting the most out it. I have wanted a pc hooked up to my tv with all our films loaded on along with music and pictures for a while now. I have started to use an old tower PC i had from 2004, however is very noisy and needs more memory a better grafix card and bigger hard drive. I have now decided to build a new system from scratch on a tight budget. I have never built a computer before so bear with my very limited knowlage.

Case will be this one:- X-Case X1501A - Black Silver - No Psu - (comes with a power pupply)

Motherboard:- Maybe this one ASUS M5A78L-M LX AMD 760G uATX Motherboard at cheap prices | PC World

Processor:- Something like this. AMD Athlon II X2 260 Processor at cheap prices | PC World

Memory:- will be 4GB

Grafix Card:- will need to have a HDMI output. Maybe this one. PNY NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS PCI-E Graphics Card - 512MB at cheap prices | PC World

Blue Ray Drive:- Standard drive nothing fancy. LITE-ON iHES212 Internal Blu-ray Player at cheap prices | PC World

Hard Drive:- Might look at using an old Hard Drive for the Operating system and a seperate 2Tb drive for storage of media.

Operating System:- Windows 7 or XP with media centre.

I will be using a wireless keyboard and mouse.

Does what i suggest sound realistic? any comment welcome.

Monty Burns

Prominent Member
I only use Intel CPU's so can't comment on the AMD choice but, I wonder if it has enough juice?

Are you planning to pass the audio over HDMI or an optical cable?

What budget do you have? I've proven that (not including O/S) you can build an I3 system for a smidge over £200.

Rich1981

Established Member