1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RGBvProgressive Scan vHDMI

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by VistaVision, Apr 13, 2004.

1. VistaVision

VistaVision

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +18
    Can someone give me a rough percentage idea of the improvement in connecting a DVD player via RGB scart, compared to connecting via Progressive Scan compared to connecting via HDMI cable?
    Many thanks:thumbsup:

2. alancolledge

alancolledge

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    I couldn't give you a percentage but the difference from bog standard RGB to progressive DVI (nearly HDMI!) is dramatic.

I am not a picture expert as some on the forum and I would love to give you some officious terminology but in laymans terms!!

I have Sky + through RGB my old DVD (also connected through RGB) although gave a better picture, up close to the screen I could see 'noises' around some movement which related to say the best quality Sky Movie channels.

The improvements I have seen with DVI has done away with those noises for a brighter, much sharper picture as if to wipe the screen clean again.

I am sorry I can't tell you about component as I don't have the cable to view this way.

In conclusion my expectations have been lived up to if that is anything to go by!!

:hiya:

3. buns

buns
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    tough to answer seeing as hdmi can be prog scan. You are mixing interfaces are signals..... so its really not possible to compare :)

ad

4. VistaVision

VistaVision

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +18
    :thumbsup:
    Many thanks for the imfo. It will help to decide which DVD player to buy to upgrade my present one.

5. buns

buns
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1