1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RGB > YUV problems...

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by kevshed, Nov 17, 2003.

  1. kevshed

    kevshed
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +74
    Appreciate the groups help on this please if possible...

    Until recently i have been connecting my NTL box via a JS RBG->Plasma VGA box direct to the VGA on my plasma.. this worked fine. But i changed my processor and wanted to use the YUV switching.. so.

    I replace the JS RGB->VGA to a JS RGB->YUV Box.... (switched on FMJ AV8)

    Ever since the change i now get a problem.

    Whilst watching TV (doesnt happen with other sources), i get an intermittant bending at the top of the plasma... looking at when it happens, it seems to be particularly sensitive to white.. as soon as there is a white background, or camera flash, i get this terrible bending - until a more colourful frame is on, then all goes back to normal.

    It looks like it looses sync tbh.... so, im suspecting the below.. comments appreciated.

    1- JS RGB->YUV is faulty
    2 - I need better sync signal (would a sync blaster cable help?)
    3 - AV8 has an undersensitive Sync on G circuit, or i need to change a setting somewhere?

    any help advice appreciated.
    thx
    Kev

    FYI: Plasma is Panny 42W3 fed via component only - all scart/component leads are high quality.
     
  2. kevshed

    kevshed
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +74
    bump... someone ? :)
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Try contacting JS and see if it is a problem they have come across Also try Arcam to see if they can shed any info.
     
  4. stevepr

    stevepr
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually i did the same thing and had to go back to the RGB-> VGA as i getting a poorer picture when using the RBG->YUV thru my Yahama RX1400. Good cables used all round, perhaps I should have gone back to John at JS Technology to see if there was any reason for it.
     
  5. kevshed

    kevshed
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +74
    im still waiting a response from JS.. will let you know the outcome.
     
  6. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
    I have used the keene syncblaster RGB to PB,Y,PR. component and I had no problems as you discribe.It must be your converter
    .
     
  7. kevshed

    kevshed
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +74
    Ok,

    Well, ive taken the AV8 out of the equation... and used the Converter directly to plasma... this eleminates the problems.

    So i need to change the cable next.. just to be sure. If i get the same result, then the AV8 must be doing something wierd.... great, just what i need.

    I'll get there in end... damn things.. :)

    OK, anyone got a good component cable for sale ? :)

    Kev
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I have heard of a problem with the YUV on the AV8 before, try a search
     
  9. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Kev,
    I use a JS RGB>YUV and switch through my AV8, but don't have this problem. although I'm using a pio 503mxe. Don't know if this is any help?
    Regards
    John
     
  10. kevshed

    kevshed
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +74
    Thanks for the posts...

    Have had very good support from Both JS and Arcam on this - looks like my plasma is just very very slightly greedy on sync signal..... without the AV8 its fine, with the AV8 is plays up. So, next steps are to send the converter back to JS to check the sync voltage.. and increase if need be.

    Cheers,
    Kev
     

Share This Page

Loading...