rgb --> vga or rgb --> s-vid??

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by ddaddy, Nov 27, 2002.

  1. ddaddy

    ddaddy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    looking at the gear on john sim's site, i need to decide wether to go for rgb to vga or rgb to svid converter for a pana plasma.

    I want to use my pc through it also, so if i get the rgb to vga, id also have to buy a vga switching unit.

    Any views welcome.

    cheers
     
  2. d_devani

    d_devani
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You might find the RGB to Component (J Simm) to be better then the s-video option, and this also leaves the vga connection free for your computer...
     
  3. ddaddy

    ddaddy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I will be using the component for my dvd player. However, ive just realised that my pc has got an svid tv output on it, so i could use this for my pc, component for dvd and vga for all other rgb gear.

    Anyone used tv out from pc to plasma? Quality any good? I know tv out to tv is normally crap.

    cheers
     
  4. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    While you can use your computer with the screen, it's not really as good as having a dedicated monitor. Resolution of monitors is higher, I feel give a better human interface than plasmas. Where a PC to plasma really does score is if you doing presentations or playing games (because of the size), but for internet and text processing, probably best to use a monitor.

    All the best,

    John.
     
  5. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    On topic of pc s-vid out, you'd be 6 million times better off with vga switching IMHO, the hassle factor of TV out is more than any other part of HCPC's. VGA, you press a button and there it is. Quality must be better, there's more data there. Pleased with my RGB to VGA solution, sorry John it's not yours, but I'm sure yours is just as good! It's minimum loss of data from the original signal. S-Video just leaves some out, and no display can put it back.
     
  6. ddaddy

    ddaddy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks.

    MAW, whats your RGB to VGA solution?
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Keene synchblaster, all the electronics are in the plug, v. neat. Looks good too, only occasional fault is the picture sometimes offsets itself to the right, when you turn on, not during. This is cured by turning the stb off, then back on.
     
  8. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    You've got to turn the STB off and on again just to get the picture in the right place? Never heard of that before, certainly not with my RGB to Plasma VGA unit. Very strange.

    All the best,

    John.
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Not always, it happens sometimes whe I change channels, I think when it goes from a 4:3 channel like boomerang to a widescreen channel, but I can't be sure. Anyway, I don't have to get my butt out of the chair to fix it, so it's no big deal. once a week or so is all.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice