RGB to Component

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Malone, Apr 8, 2002.

  1. Malone

    Malone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,859
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ilkeston,Derby
    Ratings:
    +70
    No doubt this has been approached before, anyway can you carry RGB through component leads or is there a RGB to Component converter. Short & Sweet......(obviously to a PJ)
     
  2. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,057
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,168
    Hello Malone

    We sell the range of RGB to plasma interface boxes from John Sim at JS Technology and we will be adding in Johns new RGB to Component converter in the next couple of weeks when the first batch of products comes off the production line.

    I expect the price will be around £100 and up to the usual great standard that Johns products have become know for - John quite often posts here as Symanski; do a search and you will get an idea of where he is coming from.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  3. Hellicopter

    Hellicopter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Joe-any chance of checking whether John's RGB to Plasma VGA converter works on the Panasonic PT AE 100?
     
  4. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,208
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +298
    Joe

    I would also be interested in how the rgb/componant convertor works with the AE100.
    I cannot put up with composite from my set top box, it sucks.
     
  5. Malone

    Malone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,859
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ilkeston,Derby
    Ratings:
    +70
    Cheers Joe, i'll keep my eyes open for any posts.

    May seem like a silly question because the source is RGB and not component but being that its a converter will you get RGB quality or Component. :blush: and how many inputs would this box have.

    Regards Matt
     
  6. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The RGB to plasma VGA convertor doesn't work with the AE100, at least it didn't when I tried it..

    Andy
     
  7. apexsec

    apexsec
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Straying from the point of RGB to Component slighty, what is the Synchblaster lead that Keene Electronics do that is supposed to convert a scart output to a svga input.
    Has anybody tried it and what are the results?
    I rang Keene on 08/04/02 to find out more info but was advised to talk to the guy that designed the lead but he wasn`t in, so will ring back 09/04/02 and will let you know.
     
  8. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Colchester
    Ratings:
    +44
    The RGB to plasma won't work as it operates at a different frequency than the Ae100. I asked them direct for that one.
    I too am interested in a RGB to VGA convertor for my sky box. That would be good.
    I use a RGB to S Video convertor at the moment which is good. Cheers Retronana, [​IMG]
    But anything better I'm always interested in, as otherwise the next step is the IScan.
     
  9. Big Jim

    Big Jim
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am in a similar situation, but the other way round - I have a TV that doea not display NTSC in colour, and a US gamecube that does not output in RGB.

    Is there a solution for component to RGB anywhere?
    Will John Sim's box do the conversion backwards as I need it?
     
  10. bxd

    bxd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +134
    Jim,

    Key Digital do a box (the KD-CTC A2) which converts component to rgbhv. That might be suitable for your needs.

    As far as I can tell, the Keene device increases the sync voltage so that a projector can actually lock onto the signal via it's vga/rgbhv connectors (e.g my crt projector won't lock onto a scart derived rgb signal for this reason) However it all depends on whether the pj is actually capable of handling a 15kHz signal on the vga input.

    Brian
     
  11. apexsec

    apexsec
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    THE SYNCBLASTER WONT DO THE JOB cos as has been previously suggested unless your projector will go to horizontal frequencies as low as 15Khz it wont see the input .
    As for the panny ae100 its horizontal frequencies start at 30 Khz.
    This is straight from the horses mouth .
    the designer at Keene.
    The next best thing is to wait for JS Technologies to finish their RGB to Component Converter, which after speaking to them today will be at least 2 weeks.
    Sorry folks.
     
  12. Malone

    Malone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,859
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ilkeston,Derby
    Ratings:
    +70
    Just to re-iterate is the converter "upgrading" the quality of RGB to Component levels???

    Matt......
     
  13. apexsec

    apexsec
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I rang JS Tech today I asked the same question.
    The answer was yes it would be a component grade signal.
    The answer I got was ` if you can imagine a graphlike scale composite would be at the bottom and there would be a great leap to s-vhs , from s-vhs to rgb there would be a small jump, from rgb to component there would be a very small step`
    If your equipment is of high enough quality to see this `very small step ` then you will benefit . But Yes it is a component signal.
     
  14. Malone

    Malone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,859
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ilkeston,Derby
    Ratings:
    +70
    Cheers M'Dears

    Matt..............
     
  15. Big Jim

    Big Jim
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ta Brian,

    I will have a look at that...
     
  16. patmyhead

    patmyhead
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    590
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I o M
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi
    has any one tried this rgb to component converter .if so is it worth buying
    i want to conect from sky to sony 11ht or to maybe go from dvd via denon amp component inputs then to PJ would this work
    [email protected]
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice