rgb to component

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by philthyanimal, Oct 25, 2004.

  1. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This might sound really stupid, but my i use my 757i 2 scart inputs to take sky+ in and then pass it out as rgb.
    Could i do the same but pass it out through the component outs.
    e.g sky comes in as rgb goes out via the 3 rca's as component.
     
  2. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    evert time you convert a signal the picture quality gets worse
    so why would you want to do this?
     
  3. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    currently because my TV has one RGB scart and i have need for 2 rgb inputs.
    To convert it to component would save me having to upgrade my amp to 2014i
    when i buy a plasma.
     
  4. byron_hinson

    byron_hinson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,749
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +247
    Why not buy a Scart Splitter - I got a new one from John Lewis that is RGB and does auto switching depending on what scart connected hardware is running. I have Xbox, PS2, DVD Player and freeview box all connected to one RGB port.
     
  5. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think this is gettling away from what i originally wanted to know.
    I'm fine as far as passing my sky into my DVD and out into my TV, what i would like to know is if instead of outputting it via scart, can i output both DVD and sky via the DVD's component out.
     
  6. deckard

    deckard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    425
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    leicester
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd doubt it mate. I've got a 757 too and I'm almost 100% certain it's simply a scart pass-through, there's no video conversion on the 757.
     
  7. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,484
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,487
    Correct, a DVD player will not do any video conversion only passthrough. Therefore you will not be able to input RGB from Sky and output to a plasma as component.

    Mark.
     
  8. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks.
    Thought as much but always best to ask before you spend extra money.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice