rgb to component

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by philthyanimal, Oct 25, 2004.

  1. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This might sound really stupid, but my i use my 757i 2 scart inputs to take sky+ in and then pass it out as rgb.
    Could i do the same but pass it out through the component outs.
    e.g sky comes in as rgb goes out via the 3 rca's as component.
     
  2. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    evert time you convert a signal the picture quality gets worse
    so why would you want to do this?
     
  3. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    currently because my TV has one RGB scart and i have need for 2 rgb inputs.
    To convert it to component would save me having to upgrade my amp to 2014i
    when i buy a plasma.
     
  4. byron_hinson

    byron_hinson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,623
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +214
    Why not buy a Scart Splitter - I got a new one from John Lewis that is RGB and does auto switching depending on what scart connected hardware is running. I have Xbox, PS2, DVD Player and freeview box all connected to one RGB port.
     
  5. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think this is gettling away from what i originally wanted to know.
    I'm fine as far as passing my sky into my DVD and out into my TV, what i would like to know is if instead of outputting it via scart, can i output both DVD and sky via the DVD's component out.
     
  6. deckard

    deckard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    425
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    leicester
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd doubt it mate. I've got a 757 too and I'm almost 100% certain it's simply a scart pass-through, there's no video conversion on the 757.
     
  7. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    Correct, a DVD player will not do any video conversion only passthrough. Therefore you will not be able to input RGB from Sky and output to a plasma as component.

    Mark.
     
  8. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks.
    Thought as much but always best to ask before you spend extra money.
     

Share This Page

Loading...