1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

rgb to component or vga n00b question

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by av addict, Jun 15, 2005.

  1. av addict

    av addict
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +161
    hi all
    i will be getting a 42 inch panny 500 next week-and just want to know what
    is the best to use from my ntl digital box-
    1 rgb to component converter from js or
    2 rgb to plasma vga convertor from js

    i don't have an amp so this not not an option


    i suppose its what type of quality cables i would use-would i see a difference
    in picture quality eg- 10%,50% or 100%

    one more question-i have an xbox which is not modded if i was to connect
    my xbox rgb to rgb to component would i still get a better picture or no picture at all -so many questions so little time-thanks

    you help is appreciated :D
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    The person who invernted and builds these converters has said in the past that in most cases the RGB to VGA conveter gives a slightly better picture. The component converter tends to give a slightly soft picture compared to the VGA.

    Mark.
     
  3. shaithis

    shaithis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,635
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Last Aerie
    Ratings:
    +30
    Best to buy a component cable for the xbox (10-15quid) to run it in progressive scan mode if you opt for the RGB > VGA converter for your NTL box.
     
  4. av addict

    av addict
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +161
    my xbox is not chipped so will i be able to use component this way
    cheers
     
  5. shaithis

    shaithis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,635
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Last Aerie
    Ratings:
    +30
    Yes, you just cannot use the offical XBox high-def kit (requires a US or chipped XBox and you need to import it)...any of the XBox component cables you can buy in Game, EB etc on the highstreet will work.
     
  6. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    I would see what running direct scart is like first. It's traditionally the older Vieras and scart board for the monitors that have crappy RGB scart inputs. This one may do a better job of it.

    Also, the VGA socket is on the front of the screen remember.... not pretty.
     
  7. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    I would consider the RGB to YPrPb convertor myself as sometimes folk do not like the colour levels they end up with when using some sources with the VGA convertor. While some displays will allow colour adjustment with a VGA feed many will not. The panasonic being one of them. So you have more scope for adjustment with the component convertor and I'd hazard a guess that for most of us, large colour innacuracies will be more obvious at our seating postion than a very slight loss in sharpness, if indeed there is any.

    Gordon
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    VGA on the PV500 is rear mounted Thankfully, no doubt peope liked the front VGA port in equal numbers............I would try a decent scart lead first Ntl isnt going to set the world on fire PQ wise, and i wouldn't waste the only component input on it either more important IMO for DVD or Xbox also £150 on a JS RGB>YUV could be better spent on other areas...........ISF? AV Amp and 5.1 speakers?
     
  9. av addict

    av addict
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +161
    thanks guys for your input-i'll just try a good quality scart lead first then take it from there then :D

    ye i will be hopefully getting it isf as well when the 200 hours have been used up on it
     

Share This Page

Loading...