1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RGB Scart for PS2

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by rivolinho, Dec 5, 2003.

  1. rivolinho

    rivolinho
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I recently got an RGB scart lead for Ps2 from ebay.

    Well i believed it to be RGB, but i dont think it is. My TV prints the letters RGB onscreen when such a device is plugged into it, i.e. Sky Digibox, however it does not do so when my ps2 is in use through this lead.

    Also DVD's dont appear green on screen, which they should if this was an RGB cable. The cable does not have the necessary switch to go between dvd and tv mode.

    Can anyone help?

    Have i been had?
     
  2. watchmaker

    watchmaker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +15
    Check that the scart socket you're using on the TV is RGB.

    Most TVs only have 1 RGB scart socket.
     
  3. wod

    wod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    it doesn't sound like a proper rgb cable , buy a decent one like the blaze ultimate scart lead or the ixos ps2 one
     
  4. Willy

    Willy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    466
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Blaze Ultimate Scart is a good one. It's about a tenner. I think Special Reserve sell them.
     
  5. mugsy

    mugsy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    668
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +20
    Check the scart plug on the cable and look for a small switch with a 'game'or 'dvd' setting. If it has one, make sure it's set to game.
     
  6. fuzzybee

    fuzzybee
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Chesterfield town of the crooked (Spire)
    Ratings:
    +72
    The easiest way to find if something is outputing RGB to your tv is the autoswitch method. 99% of tv's/cables will autoswitch to the RGB AV channel when said device is switched on. Like other members have suggested look for a switch on the console connection end of the cable and make sure the cable is inserted into a RGB enabled socket.
    Add another vote for the blaze ultimate scart cable, it produces a superb picture on my 42" plasma :smashin:
     
  7. wod

    wod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    thought you be using component on the plasma
     
  8. outtathaway

    outtathaway
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have you set the PS2 to output RGB otherwise it'll be a PAL signal.
     
  9. rivolinho

    rivolinho
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for all the suggestions lads, found out the prob in the end.

    For some strange reason, when i use the skybox in the rgb socket, it accepts it on the av1 channel as "AV1 RGB" but it wouldnt autoswitch like this with the ps2.

    The tv is new so i hadnt explored everything on it. There turned out to be another AV channel called RGB would you believe!

    Job done.
     
  10. fuzzybee

    fuzzybee
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Chesterfield town of the crooked (Spire)
    Ratings:
    +72
    Thats a fair comment, sadly finances won't allow the purchase of a component cable at the moment, so RGB scart will have to do for now. I've been looking into a VGA adaptor but i don't think that many games actually support it, can anyone comment regarding this ??????
     
  11. wod

    wod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    i thought it was only the dreamcast that can output vga ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...