1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RGB / S-Video Question

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by ajbeech, Feb 16, 2004.

  1. ajbeech

    ajbeech
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dear All,

    This is puzzling me - can anyone help...

    My brother just purchased a Sony DAVS-550 (multi-region). His TV is on the old side (really old and naff goodmans model) and he cannot get a colour picture if a region 1 film is played. I thought the TV was probably at fault (too old etc)

    HOWEVER, around 6 months ago, I took my DVD player (Sony S325 - multi-region) to his house and we watched The Ring (Region 1) on his TV without any trouble. As far as I am aware, my DVD player does not output a PAL60 signal - its NTSC or PAL depending on the region.

    I'm wondering whether the lack of an RGB output on his DAV-S550 might be the problem. Any ideas greatly appreciated - we're both pi**ed off about it (it doesn't help that I recommended it to him either :blush: )
     
  2. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    That'll be it. RGB is neither NTSC or Pal.
     
  3. Rolo Tomasi

    Rolo Tomasi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Unless the TV is set-up to receive an s-video signal the picture will appear black and white.

    How did you connect the dvd player to the TV?
     
  4. Crocodile JD

    Crocodile JD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,081
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tamworth, Staffs
    Ratings:
    +21
    You might consider changing the title for a better response. In case people mistakingly think it's yet another format v format thread.

    In specific response:

    - It could be that the TV doesn't accept NTSC and your Sony S325 was doing a straight (as opposed to Psuedo PAL i.e. PAL60) NTSC to PAL conversion? If your player has NTSC to PAL conversion capability and your player is set to output PAL, it may well have been doing the conversion. If it was set to Auto (or similar) it would as you say do straight NTSC or PAL depending on singnal.
    - It could be, since you were feeding the TV successfully from your Sony S325 before, that you were feeding it RGB signals and that you need to reset the TV scart to S-Video (via TV setup menu) if the option is available. Alternatively there may be another scart that is s-video capable or possibly a din type s-video connection somewhere on the TV. Might be one on front or side with Aux connections?

    HTH

    Croc
     
  5. ajbeech

    ajbeech
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The S325 was connected using a scart socket. At my house, I have it connected using an RGB signal. I seem to recall that the S325 produced a b/w image from a region 1 source when it was plugged into my brothers TV. Some fiddling around sorted it out, but I don't recall what I did! The only option on the S325 is to switch between RGB and S-Video and he doesn't seem to be able to adjust the TV to accept the correct signal.....then again, his skills with a/v equipment might be the problem. Perhaps i'd better pop over at the weekend.
     
  6. ajbeech

    ajbeech
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    how do you change the title?
     
  7. Crocodile JD

    Crocodile JD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,081
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tamworth, Staffs
    Ratings:
    +21
    ... to reset the title, I think you just have to post a reply with an instruction to the mods, but I think it is more than likely that you have your answer in that the source output (in your brothers case S-vid) and the TV input don't match up. Needs to be changed in TV setup menu if doable or else find an alternative s-video input on the TV

    Cheers

    Croc
     
  8. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    :confused: :suicide:
    Did no one read my reply?
     
  9. ajbeech

    ajbeech
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I did. And thanks for stating the obvious. :rolleyes:
     
  10. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    in case you are interested, it is the manner in which svideo is constructed as a signal that is the problem. I think (id need to check) the reason you get this problem is because in svideo the color info is carried in a modulated signal. The frequency of this modulation is different for PAL and NTSC, hence if your tv cant recognise the NTSC version, no color!

    Unfortunately, there is almost nothing you can do if your tv wont see the appropriate frequency :(

    ps. the distinction between this and composite is simply that the luminance and chroma signals are never actually combined in svideo

    ad
     
  11. ajbeech

    ajbeech
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Buns - your post confirms something I had read on the net last week (cant remember the url though!). The TV will definately play region 1 DVD's, but nothing will get the damned things to play in colour using the S-Video lead!
     
  12. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    RGB will work in colour because it is not NTSC - my old TV doesn't like NTSC at all but NTSC discs work via RGB
     
  13. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    I second MartinImber's reply, NTSC can work over RGB on non-NTSC TVs as long as the TV can handle the 60Hz refresh rate. (Just like PAL can work over YUV/Component on non-PAL TVs)
     

Share This Page

Loading...