1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RGB question

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by steevs, Oct 29, 2003.

  1. steevs

    steevs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,899
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    wxm
    Ratings:
    +71
    forgive my ignorance, i'm fairly new to the wonderful world of home cinema.

    Just one question.

    I have s video, composite, vga and component inputs but no scarts on my plasma. component is taken for dvd, is it possible to output RGB for sky via the other inputs

    Thanks in advance.

    Steve
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Probably, but it depends on the plasma. Spill the beans, what have you got, and someone will tell you how to do it.
     
  3. steevs

    steevs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,899
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    wxm
    Ratings:
    +71
    Hi

    Thanks for replying, it's not a well known model. It's a Relisys pdp4202.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    Simple answer is:
    Get sky+ and use S-video
    Get RGB>VGA converter use vga input
    Or if AV amp or similar has component switching use an RGB to YUV converter using amp for switching.
     
  5. steevs

    steevs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,899
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    wxm
    Ratings:
    +71
    Thanks for the advice, It is sky+ I have, I tried connecting via s-video and wasn't impressed. Do you think my best bet is the RGB to Plasma Screen VGA from av-sales?
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    av-sales or direct from JS technology
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Before lashing out the cash, check your manual, and the www.rgbtosvideo.com web site. Not all plasmas can use the JS converter. You might be able to save yourself the dosh in other ways too. Your manual might give the clues. It might be possible to use the vga port to accept a component signal with an appropriate cable, lektropacks do them (much improved now) and depending on the type of component input you have, it might accept RGB and sync. on composite via an appropriate cable. This setup works well with Hitachis, I've never had my hands on a Relisys, so forgive me if this is a load of cobblers. Your screen is not mentioned by Dr. JS, it might be that no-one has tried it, so you'll have to give him a ring. Be nice, he might give you a discount in return for a full report!
     

Share This Page

Loading...