RGB quality

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by davee b, Mar 17, 2004.

  1. davee b

    davee b
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leeds
    Ratings:
    +2
    Didnt know if i should put this in tv section but here goes. i've just realised that my ntl stb has been outputting composite rather than RGB for years (although the quality is good IMO).

    i've changed to RGB output and to be honest the quality looks exactly the same except the image is slightly zoomed in, in appearance so about 10% less of the picture is in shot and the image entirely fills the screen with no black borders. the stb output is 4:3 into a 4:3 tv thru the tv's RGB enabled scart.

    is this normal for rgb to a) appear bigger and b) look no better on a >5 year old tv.

    :rolleyes:
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Mine doesn't do this, but quality on my 5 year old 4:3 Beko is no better, it doesn't have RGB input. Sync is on composite, so you still get a picture.
     
  3. davee b

    davee b
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leeds
    Ratings:
    +2
    As my TV does have RGB in i was expecting some improvement over composite even though the TV is by no means new. :confused:
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    You've covered the obvious, like making sure RGB is enabled on the TV if necessary, and you are connected to the right socket, using a real fully wired scart lead, and if the tv is any size you'd see an improvement with a quality scart lead. The plug is so poor that it takes engineering to make one that works well. As a custom installer, scart is a dream come true, you can demonstrate the necessity for good cables in 10 seconds.
     
  5. StevieDvd

    StevieDvd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Stevenage, Herts
    Ratings:
    +151
    The difference between rgb & composite on my NTL box is dramatically obvious. The menus are much sharper and colourful on rgb.

    If you cannot perceive the difference then you may not be actually comparing rgb to composite.
     
  6. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +529
    How do you get RGB output on the NTL box?

    Mine only has the option of S-video and compsoite in the settings manual?
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    If yours does s-video it won't do rgb. And yes, either of these is very much better than composite when working, you should see a big difference, more natural colours, smoother picture etc.
     
  8. davee b

    davee b
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leeds
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm pretty sure the scart cable is fully wired, so must be a duff input on the tv then. another good argument in the case i'm making with my better half for a new tv :smoke:
     
  9. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +529
    If mine wont do RGB because it has S-Video are you tellling me there are different NTL boxes out there?

    I thought they were all the same? Certainly according to the PACE webiste they are!
     
  10. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Yes there are different ones, and there is one that has s-video instead of RGB. I have seen one before, in East Sheen, as a point of interest. It might have been Telewest come to think of it, but the hardware is the same.
     
  11. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +529
    The Telewest one explains it..the ex telewest boxes are different from the standard NTL digi box...and better by the sound of it!
     
  12. FlimsyFeet

    FlimsyFeet
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    The manual for mine says that as well, but when you actually go into the on screen menu the choice is comp or RGB.
     
  13. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +529
    I spoke to PACE about this.

    They seem to think some of the orignal boxes had s-vid rather than RGB. Strange as I have just had my orginal box replaced due to a failure!

    An email to NTL is required me thinks for clarification!

    PS
    Wouldn't it be nice if NTL had a sky+ type service!!!
     
  14. trevor g

    trevor g
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    rgb scarts are wired for picture only dont carry sound
     

Share This Page

Loading...