RGB output

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by js1, Jun 21, 2004.

1. js1

js1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am a newbie and thinking of buying a recorder with a hard disk . The Toshiba RD XS530 seems reasonable but it mentions the lack of RGB as being a downside. For someone who is new to this could someone explain as simply as possible what the issues are with this and if I ordered one how you would get round the problem if yoiu wanted to record from Sky? Maybe I should pay a bit extra for the new XS32?

thanks for any help

2. RBJTech

RBJTech

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +101
    It's all about video quality - the better the source the better the recording. There are generally three standards for video - Composite, S-Video and R(ed) (G)reen and (Blue) or RGB.

Composite uses a single connection to carry all the video data and therefore is the lowest quality (but still acceptable).

S-Video uses two connections to carry a dual split video data signal and therefore is of medium quality (noticeably better then composite)

RGB uses three connectors to carry a three way video split - red, green and blue and is the best quality of the three but not a huge jump from S-Video IMHO.

So connect all your devices using the best methods possible - but recording from SKY with 'only' S-Video IMO is more then good enough considering the poor Sky PQ (due to digital compression) in the first place.

3. js1

js1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for that

4. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,282