Rgb Or S-video?

H

hellogr1

Hello!
I'm new in HOME CINEMA and I wanted to know which is the best way to watch a movie ...through RGB or S-VIDEO?What is the difference?
Thank you very much

From what source, on what display device?

From most DVD players to most TV's RGB looks better than S-Video.
The difference very basicaly is that in RGB the Red Green Blue signals are on seperate wires while on S-Video they are mixed together on the DVD player and then split at the TV which can introduce errors.

Originally posted by hellogr1
What is the difference?

It depends on what gear you have. Most people use RGB Scart connections as it is decent quality and easy. However there are players out there that have better SVideo via Scarts than RGB performance.

Personally I think the best is component (not relevant here?) followed by SVideo on SVideo connectors followed by RGB or SVideo on SCARTs. Composite is a long way behind. SCARTs are a horrible connector but are very convenient. The difference between RGB (SCART) and SVideo (SCART or SVideo connector) is relatively small and I wouldn't loose to much sleep over it.

In my experience, quite dependent on the TV set.
I have had/seen several Philips sets for example which have a lot worse RGB than S-Video, in my opinon. (middle-end Sony sets seem to handle all three as they should)
Of course, your source and cable will determine the performance too......

100Hz TV's tend to have less sharp color with RGB than S-video, even though it should be the other way around.

The reason is that they convert all signals, including RGB, to YUV component for the internal digital processing. In order to reduce the amount of memory needed, they subsample and/or compress the color signals (often as low as 4:1:1). If the input is a composite or S-video signal, they however follow this processing with a CTI (Color Transient Improvement) circuit which tries to pull colors back into place.