1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RGB into panasonic plasma

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by turnergw, May 15, 2002.

  1. turnergw

    turnergw
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I'm about to take the plunge and order myself a Panasonic TH42PWD4. Now all I need to sort out is how best to connect everything to it!

    Main sources of interest will be the DVD player, digibox and PS2. All of these have RGB output via SCART. My original plan was to buy the much respected scart-to-plasma VGA box from http://www.rgbtosvideo.com/. However, having just been browsing through the Keene electronics catalogue in search of some other cables, I notice a couple of other options:

    1) Scart -> 4*BNC - RGB connections + sync on composite.
    2) Scart -> 15 pin VGA plug

    Now I know there are potential issues with the composite sync not being strong enough for the plasma to lock on to it with the scart -> RGB+composite lead - and obviously the composite video input is lost doing this as well (not that that's much of a problem)

    Should I assume the same would be true for the scart->VGA lead? Whilst I'm sure that the VGA converter box will do a fantastic job, I'm reluctant to shell out the extra money for it if the same can be achieved with a simple cable.

    Does anyone have any experience of trying this with a Panny plasma? I'd be grateful for any advice ...
     
  2. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Don't go here. Just buy the John Simm box. It is cheap, it works REALLY well and solves ALL your issues. These leads might split the sync up but still produce too little voltage for reliable longterm operation. You are looking to make yourself problems that are easily solved by the Simm box.
     
  3. turnergw

    turnergw
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Nic, I think that's the route I'm going to go. I guess skimping on connections is a bit pointless after the cost of the screen !
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,782
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,466
    Turnergw

    For sure go with Johns box - it works very well and is bullet proof as far as reliability goes.

    Also if you use the Composite input for your sync you cant then use the S-Video input on you panel - Panasonic only allow you to use one or the other.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  5. Mario Nicholas

    Mario Nicholas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +81
    where can these boxes be bought?

    Thanks in advance
     
  6. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
  7. turnergw

    turnergw
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. encaser

    encaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex
    Ratings:
    +112
    I asked John Sim about them and he basicly said it probabley won't do the job as Sky boxes often are too unreliable for a decent enough voltage to work - it's a 'cheap' option to a RGB box - from the scart pin.
     
  9. Panicsony

    Panicsony
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It can either use the SCART connector or a Wall wart (supplied).
     
  10. akash

    akash
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are quite clever you and have an AV ampilfier that has component switching you can utilise these outputs to use RGB signals instead of buying the box :cool: which is what i do
     

Share This Page

Loading...