1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RGB for Xbox AND Pioneer DVD player?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by kipper15, Mar 9, 2004.

  1. kipper15

    kipper15
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm trying to think of a way of connecting both my Pioneer DVD player and my Xbox to my Panasonic 32" TV, which only has two SCART sockets - one RGB + one composite. I have the Xbox Advanced SCART cable, which supports RGB.

    I was wondering, my Pioneer DVD has a second SCART socket so if I was to 'daisy-chain' the Advanced SCART cable from my Xbox through the second SCART on the DVD player, would this give me RGB output to the TV from both sources?

    I'm thinking it will because both sources will connect to the TV through the RGB-capable SCART socket on the Pioneer DVD player.

    Can anyone help here? Or am I talking nonsense?

    I'm really hoping somebody's already done this!
     
  2. rjw

    rjw
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +5
    It should work, although it might depend on the model of DVD player.

    My 747 quite happily passes RGB through the SCART sockets, although I use it for my Tivo rather than the Xbox.
     
  3. adrian3221

    adrian3221
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +42
    Just buy an RGB Scart splitter box mate, I got a nice little Hitachi one from Argos for £15.00. Havent detected any drop in picture quality.
     
  4. kipper15

    kipper15
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Ratings:
    +0

    The manual for the 656 says the second SCART socket can only output composite...it says nothing about loop through at all :confused:

    I would have thought the 656 would do it as IIRC it is a more recent machine than the original 747...right?

    Can't test this for a while because most of the kit is boxed up currently due to re-org / decorating of the lounge.
     
  5. kipper15

    kipper15
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Ratings:
    +0

    Did think about that option but I'd rather avoid it if I can :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...