1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RF Learning Remotes ?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by The Nightfly, Dec 20, 2002.

  1. The Nightfly

    The Nightfly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    The New Frontier
    Ratings:
    +23
    Are there any remotes out there that will learn RF commands ? Preferably with physical buttons for DVD transport controls as opposed to LCD touchscreen. Backlit buttons would be iceing on the cake.

    I want to store key commands from my wireless RF keyboard in order to control TheaterTek in the dark !

    Allan
     
  2. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    The Philips RU880 might (?). 'Bigger' Prontos do. There is a also a hardware mod for 1MB/2MB units to do RF (details online somewhere).

    HTH,

    Mike.
     
  3. The Nightfly

    The Nightfly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    The New Frontier
    Ratings:
    +23
    Mike,

    Providing it can learn RF commands, the Philips looks exactly what I'm after. It mentions transmitting RF for use with "Philips Power Control System", but these might be pre-programmed, it's not clear.

    I'll make an e-mail enquiry, if does the learn-RF thing I'll probably get one.

    thanks,
    Allan
     
  4. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
  5. The Nightfly

    The Nightfly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    The New Frontier
    Ratings:
    +23
    Mike,

    Thanks again, that's a great site. I've had a quick browse around that site and now I'm coming round to the idea of an IR remote like the ProntoNeo interfaced to the PC via the serial port with IRMan. The more I think about it, the more I think I'm going to need some form of touch-screen configurability to cope with all the unique TheaterTek commands that wouldn't sit naturally on the hard-keys of any universal remote.

    IRMan/Girder/Pronto/TheaterTek - that sounds familiar. Like many others I seem to be itterating towards the "Classic" HCPC config.

    Allan
     
  6. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    Allan, sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but the Philips RU 880 will not learn RF commands.

    It will only 'learn' IR commands. It can however translate any learned IR command to an RF one. This would also be the case with the Prontos, even with optional RF.

    Simon (Philips RU 880 owner)
     
  7. The Nightfly

    The Nightfly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    The New Frontier
    Ratings:
    +23
    Simon,

    I'm coming to the conclusion that an Infra Red remote is going to be better. FAR wider choice, so I'm more likely to find one that I really like and the IRMan device for the PC doesn't look too expensive (plus Girder is free).

    If I use IRMan I can still have the wireless keyboard plugged in and active. This leaves me with the choice of using a basic remote with hard-buttons for all the common DVD functions and resort to the keyboard for the unique TheaterTek functions, or put absolutely everything TheaterTek does into something like a Pronto.

    Allan
     

Share This Page

Loading...