1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RF Cable and Connectors

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by eviljohn2, Aug 10, 2004.

  1. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Does anyone know where I can get about 10m of CT125 coax cable and some decent connectors? I've no use for a 100m roll, or even 50m for that matter.

    Perhaps more importantly is CT125 worth the extra bit over CT100? Or I could even go the whole hog and get CT167 although I'm not convinced that would actually fit in most RF connectors.

    This is for connecting my aerial to my Freeview box and some of the shorter connections too.
     
  2. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Since it looks like I'm going to have to get a reel, would anybody be interested in paying me to make up some RF aerial leads for them? For a fee of course :)
     
  3. mo

    mo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london,england
    Ratings:
    +23
    maplins sell ct125 by the metre.
     
  4. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Have you got an order code for that? I can only find FT125 which claims to be "CT125 compatible"
     
  5. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Picked up some of Maplins CT100 and their "High Quality" RF connectors. Curiously though, the signal is worse than it was using my (longer) standard low-loss downlead. I can't see where I've gone wrong although the connectors didn't actually seem to be of that high quality, the core is terminated by a grub screw rather than crimped (although I prefer solder terminations). Is my low-loss cable actually likely to be better or can someone recommend some better connectors?
     
  6. 9761

    9761
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I would also like to know :)
     
  7. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    This is a blast from the past, hopefully I'll be able to reterminate the cables in a month or so and see if I just did that wrong. :)
     
  8. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
  9. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    CT100 is a single conductor but can carry audio, it really depends what you're using it for. It's usually used as an aerial feed (like from your roof aerial) so naturally carries the RF signal which contains both video and audio either in old analogue form or new digital form - remember you only have one signal lead going into your TV/Sky/Freeview box.

    It can be used to carry seperate signals in the same way as any other coaxial cable though. It really depends how you actually want to implement it. :)
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    coax can carry audio yes mono or stereo (need stereo or nicam encoder)
     
  11. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    How does RF pic quality compare to that of scart?
     
  12. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    RF is at the very bottom of the pile.

    Scart can carry composite, s-video, RGB and (very occasionally) component video with the audio being run seperately along different conductors. :)
     
  13. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    any chances of screenshots of RF vs other types of connection?
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    hook the RF of you KSy+ to the media box on your FDE and see it for your self mate
     
  15. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    I cant... see my link... nothing installed yet!
     

Share This Page

Loading...