1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RF Arial connection to Composite

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by longyp, Oct 18, 2005.

  1. longyp

    longyp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have used the (v.useful) RF2 output on my skybox to pipe Sky to another room in the house.

    I will view the sky using a projector.

    The projector has composite,s-video and component inputs.

    How do I connect the RF cable to this - what box of magic tricks do I need?

    Thanks for any suggestions.
     
  2. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    You need a tuner/receiver for this.
     
  3. longyp

    longyp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply.

    If you have not guessed yet I am a novice at this and in the middle of building my home theatre.

    I have just received my AV/Receiver (Denon 1906) so hopefully this will do the trick.

    Regards
     
  4. loadsofleads

    loadsofleads
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wouldn't it be possible to connect a coaxial connector on one end and a RCA plug on the other for a composite feed. Wouldn't be the best signal or picture in the world but it should give you a pic at least.
     
  5. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    I am afraid it won't work because AV receivers don't have an RF input for TV signals.
    Since it's a Sky system I assume (not too familar with Sky) you would actually need another Skybox, see also my response below.

    If the RF2 output is a true RF signal (as I assume) it won't be possible to do a direct connection since the signal is (RF) modulated.
    Thus you need a demodulater aka tuner/receiver in this case to convert it to an AV signal (composite or better).
     
  6. cbemoore

    cbemoore
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +16
    Your sky box only has one RF output, but it also has a splitter to split the RF signal to two RF connectors.

    Why not just add a scart splitter, and split the RGB or composite scart output from your sky box to both your main tv and your projector?

    Alternatively, does your Sky box have a composite output via an RCA connector as well as the scart output? That would save you buying a splitter.

    Chris
     

Share This Page

Loading...