1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Review Site For Denon 3805

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by laurie, Mar 12, 2004.

Tags:
  1. laurie

    laurie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,496
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,045
    Do you know if it has anything like the Pioneer I-Link.
     
  3. deckard

    deckard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    425
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    leicester
    Ratings:
    +0
    From Denon's US site:

    It has Denon link which they say is SACD compatible - NB currently it is NOT, I asked them at the Bristol show but should be later.
     
  4. deckard

    deckard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    425
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    leicester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rear panel view here.
     
  5. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,496
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,045
    Do you know how this will work i.e. if you have a Pioneer DVD player with I-Link will it be compatible with a suitable cable with the right sockets on the end, or is it Denon DVD to Denon Amp?
    Sorry if this is a obvious question but I only have tried SACD disc in my player so far but can you send DVD-A down a digital coaxial cable to an amp, if not will a Denon link work?
     
  6. CARLOS

    CARLOS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5,913
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    WEST MIDLANDS
    Ratings:
    +1,201
    We can but hope that a Pioneer to Denon link would work, Especially as the only Denon DVD with the digital link outputs costs £1600 :rolleyes:
     
  7. deckard

    deckard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    425
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    leicester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately I believe that 'Denon link' is a proprietary interface and as such is not the same as i-link :(
     
  8. laurie

    laurie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Correct Denon DVD----->Denon Amp
    I think its the protocol that's used
    cheers laurie
     
  9. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,496
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,045
    So it looks like sort of Betamax vs VHS or even worse each make having its own system.:(
     
  10. russraff

    russraff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    2,311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +50
    No, I think that most companies, like Pioneer, Toshiba and Sony will or are using Ilink. It's just Denon that are using their own standards. I reckon there are two reasons for this:
    1) So people will buy a Denon Amp if they already have a player and vice versa.
    2) Denon are beginning to break into the ultra high end seperates market where the likes of Meridian target their wares. Meridian have their own interlink system (and have had for a while, I think) so Denon are seeking parity with their own "high end" system.

    Russell
     
  11. deckard

    deckard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    425
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    leicester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have to agree with russraff, i-link is an industry wide standard for data transmission and comes in various speeds, often used for connecting camcorders and linking PS2's as well it's more recent application for audio. I guess Denon link must have some possible advantage over i-link or I can't imagine why they'd bother.
     
  12. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,496
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,045
    It is a shame because I think I would have preferred to get a Denon amp for the tonal quality but if the equipment is incompatible with other equipment )no i-link)they are going to loose sales.
     

Share This Page

Loading...