review my setup please

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by jensondegroover, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. jensondegroover

    jensondegroover
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi all,

    im with Sky and have been for many years. Im currently using the supplied Netgear unit which at a guess must be 6-7yrs old

    over the years my stuff has updated and I feel I need an update on this also

    Im unsure if Im allowed (as in sky T & C's) to use something else? as ive heard poor reports on the Sky supplied N router at £35 :confused:

    counting up Im running the following by Cat5 cable:

    two new xbox
    1 sky HD box
    1 tower pc

    via wireless

    one laptop
    one Ipad
    two HTC Desire HD

    the cabled stuff runs without a hitch, and to be fair so does the laptop via wireless, however the Ipad is slow unless its used in the same room as the Netgear. The HTC's refuse to connect anywhere in the house other than that room also:thumbsdow

    Im hoping it may be as simple as swapping or adding something like an N router to my system to get everything running reliably like the cable stuff does.

    please im a little bit lacking in the tech speak dept so keep any suggestions basic :laugh:

    many thanks :smashin:
     
  2. themediaman

    themediaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +171
    from your description it would seem the range of the router within your property is lacking, so it may be struggling to get through walls etc....

    I believe you could get a hold of another router, with better range etc, wireless n as you say and it should operate fine.........

    Not with sky though, so hopefully someone can confirm this..........

    will sky not provide you with a better router free.......?
     
  3. LKEK1985

    LKEK1985
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +54
    Yes you can buy your own router and configure not a problem. buying a decent £50-£60 router you will notice a speed increase on the LAN.

    Make sure the router your purchasing is Wifi protocol N, this in the latest technology and offers best speed and wireless range.
     
  4. LKEK1985

    LKEK1985
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +54
  5. jensondegroover

    jensondegroover
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the suggestions and advice guys
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice