Review & Comments: Amazon Fire TV 3

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by hodg100, Oct 24, 2017.


    1. hodg100

      hodg100
      Previously Mark Hodgkinson

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2005
      Messages:
      14,055
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +4,450
    2. crabby09

      crabby09
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 20, 2010
      Messages:
      445
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      43
      Ratings:
      +170
      Thanks for the review! I guess you've not gone in to the same depth as the other box streamers because it's not the same market and the box just isn't that capable. It's obvious from the outcome it won't compete on the audio front at all, but I would have been curious to see how side loaded KODI would fare with all the different bitrates of your full streaming reviews.

      Either way... It sounds like the device does exactly what I expected of it - suffice to say it will be fine for my wife and kids whilst I enjoy fully uncompressed media elsewhere in the house!

      crabby
       
    3. thefunkygibbon

      thefunkygibbon
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jul 23, 2002
      Messages:
      1,238
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      51
      Ratings:
      +37
      Currently have a chromecast (original) and a few Echo's in the house (also got a chromecast audio one which gets no use since i bought the echos).
      I notice you haven't mentioned the CC as a competing product, although it does essentially the same things (although it relies on an android/apple device which lets face it, everyone has) any particular reason?

      Are there any decent uses I'd get out of the Fire compared to that what i'm already getting out of the CC?
       
    4. crabby09

      crabby09
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 20, 2010
      Messages:
      445
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      43
      Ratings:
      +170
      I think you hit the nail on the head as to why it's not a competing item... Unless I am mistaken it is effectively a device that can be forwarded a link of a stream from another device? As such, it cannot be used without the intervention of another device and is much harder to use in places like hotels etc where both need to be on the same network?

      Fire TV competes more with smart features of TVs and set top boxes.

      crabby
       
    5. tman

      tman
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jul 16, 2002
      Messages:
      1,098
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      66
      Location:
      Hampshire, UK
      Ratings:
      +190
      I have the 4k gen 2 box, with built in ethernet. I like the idea of having HDR support, but there's no mention whatsoever if this box supports HDR10+, which Amazon are meant to be partnering with Samsung on. Anyone know?
      If I replace my AFTV, I'll wait for the other box Amazon are meant to be releasing - the 'cube'. More powerful I guess, with built in ethernet.
       
    6. smackos

      smackos
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jan 8, 2007
      Messages:
      1,595
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Ratings:
      +651
      Not only that but in an actual family household it's pretty unworkable as a main device.

      Actually noticed that the article has Shield Tv as an option for Now Tv, but I was never able to get the Now Tv app to cast to the Shield and WORK. I think it was something to do with Now Tv only being Chromecast api rather than the updated GoogleCast api. Has that situation changed now then?
       
    7. Uppsalaing

      Uppsalaing
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jul 13, 2017
      Messages:
      737
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      3
      Trophy Points:
      66
      Location:
      Fifth Row
      Ratings:
      +355
      I have a chromecast ultra... it has been gathering dust for a few months as I can more conveniently access streams/my network through Apple TV, my blu ray players or even my TV...

      I'll probably dust it off to check out how Netflix HDR looks on it, but even then, I doubt I'd use it for more than that...

      It's cumbersome to reach for my phone when all other devices can be controlled by nearly any remote in the system through HDMI CEC...
       
    8. jakey

      jakey
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jun 13, 2005
      Messages:
      809
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      43
      Ratings:
      +166
      Well, previous versions of Fire TV handle 24Hz perfectly using MrMC and all other Kodi derivatives so I see no reason why the Fire TV 3 shouldn't also be capable.

      The screen shot below is from my Fire TV 4K streamed from my nas and also confirmed by my Denon AVR.

      Edit: it also automatically switches resolution and refresh rate

      lucy.png
       
      Last edited: Oct 24, 2017
    9. Goldleader80

      Goldleader80
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Oct 9, 2015
      Messages:
      477
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      66
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +345
      I see this device as a total step down from the current Amazon Fire TV if like me you are mainly using it to stream from a PLEX server. That said if it is in fact a replacement for the FireTV Stick and a we will shortly been getting another Fire TV 'Cube' I will wait and see what that has to offer.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • List
    10. BrightonChris

      BrightonChris
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Sep 4, 2015
      Messages:
      3,589
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Brighton
      Ratings:
      +2,464
      I assumed it would work in conjunction with my echo dot. Obviously I've read too many American blogs. Very poor from Amazon not including this. I have cancelled my order, it's already been despatched so I will send it back if it does come and switch over to the Google home and chromecast ecosystem.
       
    11. mtenga

      mtenga
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jan 27, 2013
      Messages:
      7,652
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Beckenham
      Ratings:
      +1,913
      Yes the Americans got hand free control via an Alexa device in August. Poor relations over here still need to press the button on the remote which is rubbish. How much longer will we have to wait? I guess they are most interested in their biggest and home market which is not unreasonable.
       
    12. kimberlin

      kimberlin
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jul 3, 2017
      Messages:
      262
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +138
      I want one, but just been onto the UK Amazon website and it's not even in stock for despatch until 03 November. I realise it is release day today, but another 10 days before it's actually available for potential buyers?......
       
    13. gorman

      gorman
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Oct 29, 2005
      Messages:
      261
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Ratings:
      +39
      I'm constantly baffled by lack of attention to different refresh rates by the manufacturers. This seems like a nightmare coming back after the honeymoon with BluRay that introduced the world to smooth playback. :mad:
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • List
    14. hodg100

      hodg100
      Previously Mark Hodgkinson

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2005
      Messages:
      14,055
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +4,450
      Exactly, Crabby.

      It was working last time I checked after the latest update but I've subsequently removed it as one of my 4 devices as it effectively takes up two slots - one for the SHIELD and one for the casting device. It wasn't working prior to that afaik.

      Yes, I said the AFTV 2 was better as a local/networked streamer but, at this time, the AFTV3 fails in certain important areas
       
    15. crabby09

      crabby09
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 20, 2010
      Messages:
      445
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      43
      Ratings:
      +170
      Drop in feature was added in June in US and came here around a month ago... So we can hope it'll be here before Christmas?

      crabby
       
    16. scumball

      scumball
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jan 12, 2004
      Messages:
      6,485
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      106
      Location:
      Harrow - London
      Ratings:
      +446
      Probably the most notable absence, at least as far as the UK is concerned, is Sky’s NOW TV service but that doesn’t ever look like it will make an appearance on the platform so if that’s a key service for you, you’ll need to look at either a Roku, Sky’s own NOW TV Box, an Apple TV or a SHIELD TV

      SHIELD TV doesn't have a NowTV app...
       
    17. hodg100

      hodg100
      Previously Mark Hodgkinson

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2005
      Messages:
      14,055
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +4,450
      Read above - you can cast NOW TV to a SHIELD
       
    18. scumball

      scumball
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jan 12, 2004
      Messages:
      6,485
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      106
      Location:
      Harrow - London
      Ratings:
      +446
      Is NOWTV casting specific to shield TV and not just casting in general.
       
    19. hodg100

      hodg100
      Previously Mark Hodgkinson

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2005
      Messages:
      14,055
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +4,450
      Sorry, I'm not sure I quite understand what you're asking but, from the NOW TV mobile app, it is possible to cast content to the SHIELD TV (and a Chromecast).

      Does that answer your question?
       
    20. scumball

      scumball
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jan 12, 2004
      Messages:
      6,485
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      106
      Location:
      Harrow - London
      Ratings:
      +446
      Yes. Was wondering if you could cast NOWTV to other cast devices or if shield TV was only one working.
       
    21. kimberlin

      kimberlin
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jul 3, 2017
      Messages:
      262
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +138

      As SKY only streams content on the NOW TV platform at 720p, I'm personally not bothered about the lack of a NOW TV app on the new Amazon dongle anyway. I'll just be sticking to the Roku streaming stick I currently use to watch Now TV content. The Roku stick only cost me 20 quid from Argos earlier in the year, half price. Everything is plugged into my AV receiver anyway, so I'm hoping I can also successfully plug the Amazon dongle into the AV receiver (Marantz NR1506, 4K HD compliant) and watch the somewhat limited 4K HDR content available on Amazon Prime and Netflix on my 4K UHD Hisense H55M7000.

      Anyway, still a minimum of a 10 day wait as Amazon UK don't currently have any stock available for despatch. They've had the release date published for weeks, not having any stock for despatch seems a little dumb.
       
    22. Matt wS

      Matt wS
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Feb 9, 2015
      Messages:
      75
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +13
      What is the 4K-HDR output like?

      I have the Amazon Prime app in my Bravia TV, but the playback is not smooth and the sound drops out of sync. I'm assuming that this is down to the demands of decoding being beyond what the processor in the TV is capable of as if I feed it a 4K signal from blu-ray over HDMI it's fine.
       
    23. stevebk

      stevebk
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 14, 2013
      Messages:
      506
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      66
      Location:
      Dorset
      Ratings:
      +364
      I find these Amazon remote controls are very poor quality, and others i know have also found the same.
       
    24. Barneyrubble uk

      Barneyrubble uk
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Nov 21, 2007
      Messages:
      1,025
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      86
      Location:
      Burton on Trent
      Ratings:
      +339
      I've bought one.. I thought I could just plug it into my 4k av receiver and it would work.... Nothing.... It works if I plug it into my 4k tv.. Any thoughts why I can't just plug into my avr and it work?
       
    25. mtenga

      mtenga
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jan 27, 2013
      Messages:
      7,652
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Beckenham
      Ratings:
      +1,913
      I guess it fits in with the budget nature of the Fire devices. I use a Harmony in preference to the plasticky effort that Amazon provide.
       
    26. kimberlin

      kimberlin
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jul 3, 2017
      Messages:
      262
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +138
      I'm guessing it depends on exactly what the specs of your AV receiver are. If it isn't compliant, you'll never get 4k hdr pass through on it.
       
    27. rDin

      rDin
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 10, 2007
      Messages:
      61
      Products Owned:
      9
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Ratings:
      +13
      Got mine today...

      According to the Lumagen Pro it's outputting 2160x1920 8 bit... Checked the previous Fire TV and an NVidia Shield and both output 2160x3840 12 bit with the same material... Watching some video I can clearly see banding on the new Fire TV that isn't there on the old, suggesting it is indeed only 8 bit. And only 60Hz output as far as I can tell.

      No thanks. Mine is back in the box until a fix is released.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Thanks Thanks x 1
      • List
    28. Barneyrubble uk

      Barneyrubble uk
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Nov 21, 2007
      Messages:
      1,025
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      86
      Location:
      Burton on Trent
      Ratings:
      +339
      It is definitely compliant...
       
    29. dinoprada2003

      dinoprada2003
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Jul 7, 2004
      Messages:
      4,027
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      2
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      LONDON
      Ratings:
      +6,793
      Can you use the showbox app on this ?
       
    30. Steve Kelly

      Steve Kelly
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Nov 8, 2007
      Messages:
      2,420
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      Essex
      Ratings:
      +691
      Appreciate the review, saved me £70!
      I don't understand why it would not be capable of HDMI audio passthrough for likes of kodi, etc.
      I'd want to run it through my soundbar (including HDMI audio) (...do tell me if i'm missing something here!)
      Thanks.
       

    Share This Page

    Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice