1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Return of the king cut in half

Discussion in 'TV Show Forum' started by Jayb, Dec 7, 2003.

?
  1. No, I don't want an interval

    43 vote(s)
    69.4%
  2. Yes, an interval is a good idea

    11 vote(s)
    17.7%
  3. Not bothered

    8 vote(s)
    12.9%
  1. Jayb

    Jayb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Warner village are to include a 15 minute comfort break in the middle of ROTK

    This means Showcase will be getting my money...what about the rest of you
     
  2. TheBigApple

    TheBigApple
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In my cage
    Ratings:
    +13
    I've always gone to Warner. not going to see ROTK there as I feel a 15 minute break will interupt the flow of the film. Plus I can see a few people starting arguments when they come back with loads of food and can't get back to their seat because someone else has nicked it.

    I booked for UCI and was pleased I will be able to watch the film complete from start to finish, and I could choose where we are going to sit, so no need to turn up 30 mins before just to get a decent view.
     
  3. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +849
    It'll be for the ADD numpties won't it. The sort of nobs that goto a film and decide they need the toilet at least 5 times, blocking your view in the process.

    The sort that when they get back say rather loudly "what did i miss"

    ***!!! :rolleyes:

    IMO they shouldn't cut the film in two. Could ruin the pace as was mentioned.
     
  4. Zone

    Zone
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    6,527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +2,115
    Thats pretty much what they've done with the 4 disc EE init :rolleyes:
     
  5. lmccauley

    lmccauley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    3,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +212
    I remember seeing Dances With Wolves Directors Cut at the cinema in Cambridge and that had an intermission. Didn't cause any problems. Don't think it spoils the theatre, either.

    Cheers,
    Liam
     
  6. Jayb

    Jayb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Didn't really bother me on the EE. I thought the movie was cut at an opportune moment.

    I'm also asuming Peter Jackson decided where to cut the EE to minimise the interuption to pace, who would be qualified to make this decision for Warner Village will they be cutting it slam bang in the middle....:confused:
     
  7. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    The cut-point for RoTK was set by Jackson, as long as the cinema does what he said. This is on a German page but appears to be applicable everywhere:

    I chopped that quote, don't want to spoil. ;) But the description does sound like a reasonable point to halt, it's not mid-action and is a scene-change from one group of characters to another.
     
  8. Rambo John J

    Rambo John J
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,612
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hanoi Hilton
    Ratings:
    +860
    I have no problem with an intermission myself... maybe it's to reduce the risk of deep vein thrombosis from sitting down for such a long time:rolleyes:
     
  9. Jayb

    Jayb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    This would make sense, but it might be worth checking this is the case with Warner Village.

    Still, for me the first time I like it to watch it straight through, all 200 minutes of it........:D

    On another note this probably means that the EE will be over 4 hours......:eek: :D
     
  10. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Jackson hinted at that I believe recently .. my guess is the limiting factor is how much they can squeeze on to 2 DVDs, I suspect they'll want to keep the entire package to 4 like the other two .. remember, Jackson's first serious attempt at a final cut was 4 hours apparently. ;)

    He expects/hopes to have the EE done by Christmas, though it won't be out till November next year in the current plan, though whether the May 24 release of the theatrical version will pull the EE forward I guess remains to be seen.
     
  11. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    31,154
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5,945
    I booked up last week with Warner Village and a 15min break doesnt bother me, just means for once I can actually go to the toilet and not miss the film, at the end of The Two Towers I was going to explode :laugh:
     
  12. wilber

    wilber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    Do you go to the theatre? How many plays don't have an intermission (especially with a run time of over 3 hours)? no big deal really
     
  13. fancyabrew

    fancyabrew
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    332
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +12
    grrrrrr a bit of a pain. The only multiplext within 50 miles of me is the Warner village in Plymouth. With 15 screens and lots of showings why don't they have some showings with and some without an intermission?
     
  14. Jayb

    Jayb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Most plays I have seen or been in are written to include an intervall, in some cases it gives you the chance to change the set, so you cannot compare this to the cinema.

    Fancyabrew, I am lucky and have plenty of choice, maybe it would be worth travelling a little extra if an interval is going to bother you. For me Warner Vilage would be out not only for the interval but they also seem to leave to many lights on, I complained when I went to see Kill Bill and was told it was a fire safety issue.....:mad:
     
  15. fancyabrew

    fancyabrew
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    332
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +12
    I live in SE Cornwall nearest multiplex Plymouth 25miles next Torquay 60miles! next bristol 145 miles!

    Not happening!
     
  16. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Ah, but isn't that so the bar can make some money? :D
     
  17. Jayb

    Jayb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Torquay 60 miles......If you drive thats not too bad I have travelled further just to visit Ikea....:laugh:

    Maybe you could turn it into a day trip?
     
  18. fancyabrew

    fancyabrew
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    332
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +12
    Yeah but around 40 miles worth of the 60 is crap Cornish/devon roads, it take hours to get there
     
  19. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +849
    Wheres that then mate Saltash?

    Don't forget the £1 extra over the Tamar :)

    I'd love to see a 4+ plus extended rotk.
     
  20. fancyabrew

    fancyabrew
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    332
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +12
    nope even further than Saltash, Polperro
     
  21. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    31,154
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5,945
    Seeing Return of the King at Warner Village is nearly a 4 hour experience, they are sticking 20mins of trailers and adverts before the film, plus the 15mins intermission.
     
  22. Jayb

    Jayb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well it seems this thread had the desired affect, with an overwhelming vote for "No" Warner village have scrapped the intermission....:smashin: :laugh: :laugh:
     
  23. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    31,154
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5,945
    Glad they removed the intermission when I went and saw it on thursday, only thing that got me was that a few seconds of footage repeated itself, strange that because it would mean the scene was in the actually reel twice and I thought they were all taken from 1 master reel, wouldnt that mean all copies out there repeat?
     

Share This Page

Loading...