Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Results of JS RGB/VGA 'upgrade'

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by nobbydog, Jan 22, 2004.

  1. nobbydog

    nobbydog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    262
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Comfy basket in the utility room
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just thought I'd share this with the forum members.

    Took delivery of the above converter yesterday. I was originally running a Thor scart from my Panasonic Sky box direct to a scart input board on the P6. Seemed OK at the time. The difference running into the VGA through the JS box is very noticeable. Although I cannot detect any significant improvement in picture detail, the colours have definitely gone up a notch or two. Colours are definitely more vibrant and, as there is no colour level control in the VGA input menu, my only problem now is to fiddle with the advanced settings to try and reduce the depth of colour. The acid test was to watch it for several hours and, as quickly as I could, reconnect via the scart board. This really showed the difference up as colours looked very washed out and lifeless in comparison.
    Money well spent, I'd say, but not cheap. Total cost around £145 with VGA lead.
     
  2. TP2K

    TP2K
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interesting - I really want one of these, but £145 is a bbig risk if it's incompatible with my Hitachi PD3000... anyone tried yet?

    The JS site states; "...Recommend RGB to Component Converter.
    Note, second VGA input may be configured for Component input on some models."

    - anyone any more clued up on this? TIA!
     
  3. bossc@

    bossc@
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +268
    Think its been covered in another post recently but I dont think the Hitachi will accept this coverter. The VGA on the Hitachi is configured with use only with the tuner box (and PC????) I think.
     
  4. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +108
    The VGA connector on the 42PD3000 tuner definately works with a PC but AFAIK will not work with the JS converter.

    John
     
  5. a3rmk

    a3rmk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +5
    Bought my rgb > vga adaptor from Maplin @ £60/70.
    Used it for running XBOX through Pan plasma, now the picture is pin sharp and the colours better also.
     
  6. maxzorin99

    maxzorin99
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    nobbydog

    I am also thinking of getting this, and i also have a P6. Does it go into the port that is reserved for a PC?

    and even though colors are better, is it a less 'soft' picture?

    Also, is any lip-sync problem made worse?

    cheers.
     
  7. bossc@

    bossc@
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +268
    Max

    I use the RGB/VGA converter with my PW5 and it does go into the PC input. Like all things plasma, the image is very much dependant on source. It is a softer image due to the nature and resolution of the panel for some channels ( I use NTL digital) but most are spot on. Even the wife is impressed, which says soemthing. I've had some issues with lip sync at times but on only the crap channels the wife sometimes watches (Discovery Health etc) but a simple change of channels and back helps that.

    Personal opinion I know but I much prefer this image to anything I could get out of the 42PD3000 when I had that.
     
  8. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    26,769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,088
    maxzorrin99

    With a Series 6 display you can use either one of two of Dr Johns converters - RGB2VGA or RGB2YUV.

    As the HD15 (PC) socket on your display takes RGBHV or YUV all you require is a suitable cable to suit whichever converter you choose.

    The RGB2VGA is very slightly better - though hard to spot unless you look really hard for the differences.

    Many of the customers we supply with the 6 Series and one of Dr Johns boxes favour the RGB2YUV as they may also have a DVD with YUV out and an AV Amp with YUV switching so can plug the DVD and Digibox via the Amp to simplify the number of connections to the display and system switching.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  9. nobbydog

    nobbydog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    262
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Comfy basket in the utility room
    Ratings:
    +2
    maxzorrin99

    Nothing new to add really, I have not noticed any better/worse lip sync, the only disadvantage to the converter is the lack of auto aspect switching. You get zoom, just, 16:9 & 4:3 which you need to select manually. Look in the powerbuys and I think you can get an auto switcher for £95 or so. I'm happy to manually switch for now.
    The only other slight problem is that the colours are so 'good' now that I've had to fiddle in the advanced settings to tone them down a bit - the colour option is not available through the vga input.

    Let us know how you get on if you decide to go for one.
     
  10. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    This is a "fault" of the Panny and not the converter, though nobby.
    It's the one drawback with using the VGA input; you loose the Just mode.
     
  11. mrsimes

    mrsimes
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You DO NOT lose the 'just' mode on the Panny 6 series.
    The Panny 6 supports 'just' via VGA. I am currently using it!

    S
     
  12. nobbydog

    nobbydog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    262
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Comfy basket in the utility room
    Ratings:
    +2
    I think gmt steve meant that you lose the Panasonic Auto mode and that the 'fault' is the inability to have auto-aspect switching with the vga input and colour control in the menu.
     
  13. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    No actually I did mean the JUST mode, but I have a Panny PW5 which does loose JUST via VGA; I just assumed the PW6 was the same. Ooops, I'll just get my coat.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice