Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Resolution/refresh problems!

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by AML, Aug 21, 2004.

  1. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +228
    Hello folks!
    I just changed my graphics card from my old radeon 9800pro 256 to my new GeForce 6800GT 256.

    The card works fine and all the games ive tested thus far seem to run more smothely and faster.

    The problem im having is with the resoultion and refresh settings.

    With my old card i had them set to 1280X960 @ 60hz

    however I cant seem to do that with this new card. If i have it set at 1280X960 it wont allow the refresh go below 75hz.
    If it stays at 75hz, the picture stays all funky with lines and rainbow colours.
    (I dont know what this effect is called).

    Anyway, I want to know if it is possible to have this new card set at the resolution I want with a lower refresh rate so that i can avoid the bad picture problem.

    The only other thing I have changed since instaling the card is a new DVi cable i bought.
    Its an AV cable worth 50 quid or so. But I doubt this is the reason for these problems.
    Any advice would be gratly apreceiated!

    (ps. at the moment i have the PC set @ 1024X768 and it works fine, but i want the resolution set higher)
     
  2. Bob Beaney

    Bob Beaney
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +1
    Horizantal Tearing
     
  3. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +228
    elaborate plz!
     
  4. Pulsar

    Pulsar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Midlands - Stourbridge
    Ratings:
    +332
    AML,

    Have you tried doing this:

    Right click on desktop
    click properties
    settings tab
    click advanced
    monitor tab
    make sure 'Hide refresh modes this monitor cannot display' is UNCHECKED

    If it was checked, click apply, then try selecting the desired refresh rate of 60hz. If this doesn't work, then try downloading powerstrip and see if that can set the refresh rate you need.

    Hope this helps

    Rob
     
  5. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +228
    hey there and thanks for the reply.
    I dont actualy have any problems changing the refresh rate.
    The problem is geting rid of the "horizontal tering" bob mentioned.
    with my last card i didnt have this tearing problem when my resolution was set at 1280X960 @60hz
    But now with my new card, if I try these settings it doesnt work and it gives me all this tearing which is so annoying!
    I just want to get rid of this problem whule keeping high resolutions.
     
  6. Joe Pineapples

    Joe Pineapples
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    7,358
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +1,136
    have you tried a third-part utility like RefreshLock?
     
  7. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +228
    thanks again, but the problem isnt with the refresh rate being too low or anything. the problem im having is that when i have the resolution set over 1024X768 i get the horizontal tearing
    (rainbow cloured lines) on my desktop or in any aplication i run like games.

    Waht i want to do is get rid of the horizontal tearing while keeping a high resolution and refresh rate.
    My card is brand new (6800 GT) and im using the latest drivers for everything (graphics card, sound card, bios, chipset....)

    Im thinking that the problem is either with the card or the drivers for the card.
    I didnt have this problem with my radeon before.

    Again, it could be the monitor, but my monitors max resolution is 1280X1024 @ 85hz.

    Its an LG 30 inch LCD TV/Monitor. I know its not strictly a PC monitor, but would you like a 30 incher too?!
     
  8. Joe Pineapples

    Joe Pineapples
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    7,358
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +1,136
    have you got v-sync enabled in your driver proeferences?. On the ATI you can choose 'always off', 'application preference', or 'always on', for both D3D & OpenGl. Not having this enabled on a standard crt monitor (not sure on an LCD), can cause the video tearing issue with some games.
     
  9. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +228
    that doesnt seem to be it! Any other suggestions?
     
  10. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    have you tried running under 1280X1024? and do you still get the tearing.

    If you do then re-install the drivers direct from nvidias website and not the drivers that came with your card. remember to uninstall current drivers first.

    It does sound like your card is knackerd as i just ran that res with no issues.

    (Leadtek 6800 ultra with nvidia drivers that didnt come with card. also i never load there own tweak/ overclock software etc. Nvidia do there own overclocking program called coolbits. which is much better and very reliable)
     
  11. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +228
    hi there, i also overclocked my card through coolbits, its at 405mhz at the moment ill keep going up slowly untill it says NO!

    :laugh:

    Anyways, I did uninstal my driver, then i did a cleansweep to get rid of any old driver files, then i reeinstaled the newest Nvidia driver (6.177)
    but unfortunately it still has that same problem. I can in fact raise the ressolution but I dont want to keep it high because of the horizontal tearing.
    It spoils games and any other things i do like digital
    pictures.

    I have a feeling the problem could in fact be with the monitor im using:

    http://www.lge.co.uk/mod_perl/go.pl...ftlcdtv.htm?product_uid=2533&category_uid=644

    Even though the max resolution is 1280X1024 @ 85hz, that might only be with an analogue RGB cable, not DVi which is what im using. the max DVi resolution might be lower. (ie 1024X768) which is often the case with these monitors. The monitor specs arent clear so i cant be certain of this but its a good guess im thinking!

    If this is so, then what do u guys recomend for gaming?

    RGB Analogue cable/higher resolution, or DVi Digital cable/lower resolution?

    :lease:
     
  12. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,117
    DVI shouldn't be the problem.

    Don't the LCD TVs have built in interlacing to get around the refresh problems they usually suffer? Sounds like the TV itself is causing the problem.

    Personally for gaming I would recommend the Hercules 920Pro, I have had one for a while now and it is simply superb. Although, it is only a 17" TFT :p
     
  13. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +228
    Thanks for the advice, but once you get a taste of 30" gaming, you cant go back, even at a lower resolution. Im still waiting for a reply from the card maker (BFG) and see waht they have to say.
    It really annoying coz i had it set to a higher resolution before and i t ran with no problems. I am tempted to think that its not the monitor because it used to work with my older 9800pro.
    Maybe the nest set of srivers will solve this problem!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice