Resolution of DV capture from camcorder

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by snelly, Sep 9, 2003.

1. snelly

snelly

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Guys,

I am a relative newbie to the world of DV but have been playing for a couple of months. I have a PAL Canon MV650i and have been using Pinnacle Studio 8 with the Pinnacle supplied firewire cable.

What I am wondering is this...

I want to be able to capture video in as high quality as possible, space is no object really. I assume from the docs that DV capture is the best way to do this. My PC will happily capture DV without dropping any frames *BUT* the resulting video I capture is only at a resolution of 360x288 (approx I forget the exact values :rolleyes: ) So I checked in the capture settings and there is a dropdown for resolution but it is greyed out and selected to this value

Bearing in mind these DV cams have a res of > 500 lines why is this happening? Is it a limitation of the 1394 card, the PC, the camcorder??? It is peeing me of that I cant store footage in full quality as I want to capture it once and then archive it to disk to free up the DV tapes.

Any help appreciated

Tim

2. JefUK

JefUK

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +54
    When you use a Firewire card to load video onto a PC it is, strictly speaking, a file transfer operation and not a capture operation. The data coming off tape, at a native DV resolution of 720x576 (PAL), is transfered to an AVI file retaining the same DV compression and resolution. Your DV-AVI files should therefore have a resolution of 720x576.

I suspect that you are capturing at Preview Quality. This will convert the incoming DV compessed file into a file of lower resolution and use a non-DV compression codec. The quality will be quite poor.

Go to Setup>Capture Format and set Presets to DV. The greyed out resolution should be 720x576.

3. snelly

snelly

Products Owned: