Resetting a matsui 1496R TV help

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by wjd, Sep 20, 2007.

  1. wjd

    wjd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is my 1st post, so I don't really know where to put this question, I'll post it here and can someone please tell me where to post it properly.

    Thank you.

    My sister gave my dm an old tv we've set it up but they don't remember the 3 number password, it's only in her bedroom but it would be nice if she could turn the tv over,

    It's a matsui 2096R - 1496R

    I've been looking on google and found this

    Matsui 1496R Clearing Pass Mode Conect sw between pins 4 & 17 on r/c chip. Sw on using R/C, select chans with passcode no. Hold sw down for 2 secs until chan clears & pic returns


    Does anyone know what it means, I haven't a clue. It's a shame as it's a nice little tv, hopefully we can get it too work, I can't even tune in sky without the password, the other ones are tuned in but you can't turn onto 1 or 2 without it.

    Please help. It's driving me mad, I hate to be beaten by thing's like this. Where can I find the answer to fix this.

    Thank you.
     
  2. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +302
    Moved to crt forum.
     
  3. I remember when

    I remember when
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi from the instructions you open the remote control unit and bridge a connection between pins 4 and 17 on the IC when you are on the locked channels for 2 seconds

    Make sure you are pointing the remote towards the TV when you bridge the connection and the remote will send an infrared code and unlock the TV do this on all effected channels use a piece of wire it will save you soldering a switch etc Then put the remote back together Regards Mike
     
  4. wjd

    wjd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you Mike, gave it a try, and it worked, I didn't understand quite what you meant, but did what I thought you meant and it did it first time.

    Thank you very much, you've saved us from buying a new bedroom tv.

    Wendy x :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
     
  5. I remember when

    I remember when
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi Wendy your more then welcome
     

Share This Page

Loading...