Question Require to change TV stations for Mother-in-law

Discussion in 'Domestic White Goods Forum' started by Tonyphotoplus, Jun 26, 2015.

  1. Tonyphotoplus

    Tonyphotoplus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have aproblem in that we are always telling M-in-law how to change channels. She has dementia and can't remember what to do with a remote control. Several times a day we have to shout down the phone and tell her how to change a channel! Believe me its hell frustration. She like spagehtti westerns and old soaps. Pressing 1,2,3 are easy, but nowadays we have loads of channels. Is there a way I can change her TV station from 6 miles away? Can I send a signal down the phone? It would help us emensly if this could be resolved. I can't see anything, but I would guess if there is something out there you guys would know about it

    Thanks, I need to save what hair I have left.
     
  2. Stiggy

    Stiggy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    6,729
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sandy Heath
    Ratings:
    +1,049
    If the TV was in fact a PC you could control it remotely using VNC.

    However, this may not solve your problems. I'm not being funny or insulting, but if your mother cannot cope with a remote control then any other solution is also likely to go wrong.
     
  3. Tonyphotoplus

    Tonyphotoplus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Its a problem. That is why if I can do it from where I am she just has to sit and look at the screen. Just wish there was something. To have a PC in would confuse the hell out of her at 91
     
  4. cjx

    cjx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,376
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    sheffield
    Ratings:
    +368
    If she has sky try using your iPhone or I assume any other smart phone. Download the sky app and choose what you want, select it and highlight watch now. Never used it when not connected to my wifi but should be a way around it Im sure if that was a problem.
     
  5. Paul224

    Paul224
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,039
    Is there a feature on her telly where you can programme her favourite channels together or delete/hide all the channels she wouldn't need and only keep those that she would thus she could just use the channel up and down button as she pleases?
     
  6. Tonyphotoplus

    Tonyphotoplus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    iphones? sky? That is all money. I have no mobile and don't want one. But thanks for that. The TV is not an easy TV to use. Its a Philips and I have mastered it. My wife and I look at the TV schedules each day and when my wife is there we phone and tell her what station to turn to for her spaghetti westerns, or Heart beat, you know the usual rubbish, but to her its her favourites. I think we just have to carry on as we are. Does mean our lives are dominated by her needs. Its something you have to do. I was hoping so that my wife and I had evenings and othertimes to ourselves. Maybe that is selfish. That is why I had hoped for a piece of tech. Fingers crossed that the future brings out a tech for us that doesn't cost an arm and a leg
     
  7. Tonyphotoplus

    Tonyphotoplus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    She has no idea what she wants to watch. We have to choose it for her. Her understanding is quite limited. TX for replying
     
  8. Paul224

    Paul224
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,039
    Life was so easy when it was just the four channels, at least for me anyway - I'm only 38 years young.

    Hope you find a solution. Best of luck.
     
  9. Tonyphotoplus

    Tonyphotoplus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    TX, and you were lucky 4! stations! We had two and then BBC2 came and that was only on for a very short while. Choices were simpler then, now its monsterous. And the choices are crap. Now I have Xbox and Netflix with Youtube. Along with other addons. Unfoirtunately life is beyond those with mental problems and been brought up in the dark ages
     
  10. Tempest

    Tempest
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Horley, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +4,568
  11. JUS

    JUS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Plute
    Ratings:
    +322
    Can't think how to do it remotely. I had a Philips pronto remote which had a touch screen. You could program it with as big buttons as you liked to do whatever you liked. So if there were four or five channels she liked watching you could just program them in. So I'd suggest a programmable remote is the way to go like tempest has suggested.

    This looks like a bit more flexible. So reading it looks like you could program 1 to do channel 101 for example.

    Smart Easy1 Learning Remote Control | eSpares

    Good luck. 91 is a great age. My father in law is 90 and he's given up trying to turn the telly on...careers do it for him now :(
     
  12. Tonyphotoplus

    Tonyphotoplus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thank you for answering
     
  13. jfinnie

    jfinnie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,556
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +1,916
    There's nothing that is particularly easy or cheap to do; there are solutions for sending IR over IP - which would mean you needing to have her house as an extension of your IP network.

    If you were up on electronics / microcontrollers you could lash something together with a DTMF decoder (phone key tones) and an IR sender - so you could send IR over the phone by pressing buttons on your keypad. I can't see anything on the market that does it out of the box. Could be a neat little product.
     
  14. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,617
    Just noticed this thread...strange section for it to be posted in, however for anyone looking for a solution to this a "Slingbox", although designed for remote viewing and controlling of a Tv, can do this via any PC, tablet or smartphone.
     
  15. Tonyphotoplus

    Tonyphotoplus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Whoa this is going back some. Thanks for your reply. I hadn't heard of that before and shall be looking at this. Although it seems now its not too urgent as she can't remember how to turn the TV off and on. Sad world we get like this
     
  16. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,617
    I just realised that to use a Slingbox at your M-I-L's location she'll need an Internet connection.
     

Share This Page

Loading...