• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Replaying recorded content over a network (Humax or similar)

duckson

Established Member
Looking at cancelling SkyHD and going to Freesat HD or Freeview HD, probably from Humax although open to other manufacturers but I’m new to this so don’t know of any!

I’m interested in being able to record a program on a certain FV/FS box in the house and being able to play back that recording on another box, they would all be networked via. Effectively one box would become a recording hub.

Am I correct in saying that if you have a couple of say Humax recorders/viewers networked together you can do this?
Obviously I’m expecting that you would need a HD capable device to playback recorded HD content on a remote box on the network?
Can you playback content from say a Freesat box to a Freeview box (or vice versa) on the same network or must they all be Freeview or Freest boxes to “talk” to each other?
Can 2 remote Humax (or other) boxes playback recorded content from a single Humax (or other) box at the same time?

Thanks for any help.

Last edited:

grahamlthompson

In memoriam
Phew.

Firstly HD recordings are encrypted (there are ways round this on both the Freesat and Freeview Humax pvrs). Apart from the following exception only the Box that recorded it can play back the recordings.

Take the Freeview recorders. These encrypt both HD and SD on recording. copying SD to USB decrypts the files. The HDR model can be persuaded to do the same fot HD. The custom firmware is capable of decrypting both by enulating a virtual usb drive within the box.

Taking the standard boxes. A HDR FOX T2 will stream both HD and SD to another HDR FOX T2 or a HD FOX T2 (HD FOX to HDR FOX isn't possible).