Replacing S-Max. Maybe Peugeot 5008

DJT75

Distinguished Member
Reaction score
Hi

Just a quick one as I have zero experience or knowledge about Peugeots.

My wife's 10 year S-Max is due replacing. I bought it at 5 years old for about £8,500. To buy the same again now seems to be nearer £12,500, and I'm thinking I'd actually rather get something a little newer. Just missed out on 2013 model with 13K miles for £12,300, so started looking around again last night.

Came across this Peugeot last night. Used Peugeot 5008 MPV 1.6 BlueHDi Allure 5dr GF16FAA | Robins and Day

Only a year old, 13K miles, and probably a bit of room to negotiate price. I've looked around all the other S-Max alternatives and don't really like any of them, although the Peugeot is the smartest looking inside and out of the rest.

My head says stick with S-Max's but for a 1 year car I can't help but notice how much cheaper this Peugeot would work out. The same age S-Max would cost me £21Kish.

So any information, good or bad on Peugeot's and the 5008 in particular would be appreciated. I've just read they came 137 out of 150 cars on reliability, hence my concern.

thanks

The 5008 has just been replaced with a much more trendy model (Land Rover could take a few style tips) which may be why the older one is so cheap. The S-Max is also recently replaced, but the new one looks much the same with an uglier grille.

I've just read they came 137 out of 150 cars on reliability, hence my concern.

Alternatively:
slide1_40.jpg

Or if you prefer your data with an umlaut how about this TÜV data that shows the 5008 being more reliable than the S-Max:
Peugeot 5008 - reliability rating -- An used car - TÜV reports

The reliability information available is pretty contradictory so I wouldn't put much stock in any one report. Better to look for common faults on a model and make sure the one you're looking at is fine in those areas.