Replacing my master socket - apparently I can do it myself..?!

Discussion in 'ISPs & The Internet' started by McBain, Jun 10, 2009.

1. McBain

McBain
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,

Long story short - I'm having sync issues and want to rule out internal wiring. I have an old style master socket (no faceplate).

I've asked around and read the legal bumpf on clarity's website about messing with the master socket myself. The gist of it was that I shouldn't ever touch it, or any of the extension directly hardwired into the back of the socket.

I decided to contact BT and see how much it would be to get a NTE5 fitted and was told it would be ~200 quid. Obviously this didn't appeal, so while I had them on the phone I asked what I could legally do myself...

To my surprise, I was told I could do anything! I specifically asked if I sourced a NTE5 could I replace the master socket myself - and was told yes. I mentioned I'd read this was illegal/breach of service and she said that the socket is only property of BT for the first 12 months and after that I can do what I want..

Obviously I asked for this in writing, and have recieved an email stating this is the case.

I'm still a little concerned, however, that I might just have been told a load of porkies.

Are there any people reading these forums in the business? If I have the email is this enough evidence to avoid fines etc. should a BT engineer need to visit in the future and see my non standard master socket?

2. Jammie dodger

Jammie dodger

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +58
    My understanding is the demarcation point is the master socket, you are not supposed to tamper with the incoming wires/junction boxes or mastersocket (other than the removeable panel on NTE5s).